Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Edge from a red5 server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Edge from a red5 server

    Hi everyone

    I am thinking in a way to republish from a red5 server, this is my escenario

    A Bigbluebutton implementation , and try to access from diferents devices, (ipod, android, WP7 etc) my question is...

    Exist a way to edge all my services (video, chat, whiteboard, shared desktop, audio) trougth WOWZA to obtain a exit in diferent protocols??

    Thanks by advices and directions
    grettings Bicho

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27,925

    Default

    Bicho,

    This has not been possible with red5 for some unknown reason.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi richard

    my escenario is posible using FMS (flash media server)?
    this behavior is only with red5?
    if i change all my server code, change to WOWZA in place of red5 the exit in all protocols is transparent?
    Exist other way to reach my objetive?

    Grettings and thanks by your quickly answer

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27,925

    Default

    You can pull from a FMS with a Wowza edge:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....such-as-Akamai

    Or you can push to FMS:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....vice-providers

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27,925

    Default

    Update: I understand that the Red5 problem is fixed in Wowza 3.

    Richard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I been trying to re-stream from Red5 via Wowza and stream manager (works fine from FMS) but it does not work -I got it work when I pull from FMS 3.57 but if I change to pull from Red5 serveer (1.0) it fails and I see the follow error in console
    INFO application app-start _definst_ live/_definst_
    INFO stream create - -
    INFO server comment - LiveMediaStreamReceiver.connect: SSL:false url:rtmp://192.168.1.11:1935/live/_definst_/livestream
    INFO server comment - HTTPStreamManager.onHTTPRequest: Publish stream successfully started [live/_definst_]: flv:rtmp.stream
    ERROR server comment - handleResult[147]: can't find resultObj: 0 in
    WARN server comment - LiveMediaStreamReceiver.doWatchdog: streamTimeout[live/_definst_/livestream][1391201118701:1391201106675:12000]: Resetting connection: rtmp://192.168.1.11:1935/live/_definst_/livestream

    Again the only thing I change is pulling from FMS (which works) to Red5 (which does not). Not sure what Red5 problem has been fixed in Wowza (I am thinking it is a Red5 issue).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27,925

    Default

    I will have to check on this. I'm not sure what I was referring to above. There may have been a report from a customer that had got this to work at that time. However, generally this has not worked, and is not supported at present, in that we have not had success and therefore no guidance to document.

    Rihcard

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I gotten some Red5 folks looking at this (reviewing logs) - Maybe some handshaking issues between Red5 and Wowza. If I find something I will report back - Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    8

    Default

    The answer to this this issue is that Red5 Server does not use a default instance name unless you include it in the publishing url. So while FMS/AMS and Wowza will use _definst_ Red5 will not and Wowza will not find the stream to pull in. Once I put in the _definst_ in the stream being published to Red5, Wowza was able to pull streams from Red5 server. So I got this to work.

    Orlando

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27,925

    Default

    Orlando,

    Thanks for the update, useful info.

    Richard

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •