Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Using Transcoder for Adaptive Bitrates To Streaming Partners Like Livestream.com

  1. #1

    Default Using Transcoder for Adaptive Bitrates To Streaming Partners Like Livestream.com

    Hello,

    I'm new to live streaming so please bear with me.

    I'm looking to start small and scale from there as needed. My initial goal is to be able to record an event live given only a 1-1.5 Mbps source upload bandwidth (at the camera). Then, I want to send that live feed to a Wowza Media server where there is a bit more bandwidth, and use the Wowza Transcoder to provide adaptive bit rates, say at 1200k/Max/HD (if possible), 784k, 540k, 240k, and 64k audio only. Since I'm going to start small first, I'm probably going to be using Livestream.com as a streaming provider, as opposed to investing in expensive servers and network/1-10Gbps/NICs connectivitiy. Livestream.com does say they support adaptive bitrate with their ProCaster encoder, but I would need a lot more upload bandwidth at the source/camera (> 2.5k MBps instead of 1-1.5Mbps) to upload all those bit-rates simultaneously. I'd like to take advantage of the Wowza Transcoder, and only send 1 source feed from the camera (at ~ 1.0-1.5Mbps),and then have the Transcoder do its magic on a remote server with more bandwidth.

    So, my question is has anyone sucessfully achieved sending adaptive bitrates to Livestream.com via the Wowza Transcoder? Is this set up possible? Is there an example? Perhaps, this picture can be more clearer:


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    28,412

    Default

    You can do RTMP push of each stream.

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....ther-services)

    Richard

  3. #3

    Default

    http://www.livestream.com/forum/showthread.php?p=37090

    One of the Livestream.com support guys said that "Multi bit rate streaming to Original Livestream can only be done with Procaster (or Livestream plugin for Tricaster) at this time."

    It seems they're very restrictive about which encoders are used. Do you still think it's possible to use the Transcoder to to push adaptive bit rates to Livestream.com?

Similar Threads

  1. Adaptive Bitrate VOD Streaming w/ Transcoder
    By djsindt in forum Video On Demand Streaming Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2014, 07:34 AM
  2. AAC Shoutcast Restream and Adaptive Multiple bitrates
    By cadymaritz in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-05-2013, 02:03 PM
  3. Origin/Edge Adaptive Bitrates
    By moschops in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-21-2013, 06:25 AM
  4. Adaptive bitrates for RTMP
    By m4tt_turner in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-08-2013, 02:22 AM
  5. Streaming to multiple devices with Adaptive Bitrates for a beginner
    By computer_user in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2013, 11:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •