Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Adaptive Bitrate in verson 3?

  1. #1

    Default Adaptive Bitrate in verson 3?

    Hey, does Wowza 3.0 support adaptive bitrate?

    IE: If the encoder is set to 1000kbps, the stream can adapt to the person's connection to reduce buffering and lag?

    If so, how would I use this feature?

    Or is that the Transcoder addon?
    Last edited by planner; 10-10-2011 at 08:51 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Wowza 3 Transcoder can take one stream and transrate it to several that are key frame aligned as necessary for switching between streams. Each of the tutorials covers multi-bitrate streaming with server-side smil files to iOS, Silverlight and Flash HTTP clients. For Flash RTMP dynamic streaming take a look at JW Player implementation of Dynamic Streaming:

    http://www.longtailvideo.com/support...amic-streaming

    Richard
    Last edited by rrlanham; 10-11-2011 at 04:18 AM.

  3. #3

    Default

    According to the tutorial on the transcoder, I need:
    Accelerated Hardware and Driver Requirements
    Intel Quick Sync (Sandy Bridge)
    NVidia CUDA

    Does that mean that if I do not have a server with a sandy bridge processor I cannot use the transcoder?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,931

    Default

    Hi
    You can still use the transcoder but your CPU will have to work much harder and thus performance will be down so it is suggested that you have those hardware requirements

    Jason

  5. #5

    Default

    Ah ok my datacenter offers a E3-1230 so I guess that will be enough for it. Will the transcoder go on the origin or the edges? (I am running a load balance setup with repeaters)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You would put the transcoder on the origin.

    Richard

  7. #7

    Default

    Hmm, the CPU i mentioned above doesnt have intel 3k graphics so it doesnt have quick sync. I cant seem to find a server with a CPU that supports that, do you know of any?

  8. #8

    Default

    Any of the E3 CPUs that end in 5 have quicksync (the optimal one being the E3-1275) however I've not found any server grade motherboards that support QuickSync. The Asus P8B WS seems to be the best motherboard on the market though, for QuickSync - Asus rate it for 24/7 operation.

  9. #9

    Default

    Yeah i cant really find any server company that carries those processors :/. Guess I am out of luck until they start getting them in.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Try these guys:

    http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/C..._Configurator/

    The Asus motherboard with virtu will let you do sandybridge, cuda and software encoding all at the same time. The model number is p8 z68-v pro

    Richard

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Adaptive Bitrate with nDVR
    By josnidhin in forum AddOn: Wowza nDVR
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 07-02-2012, 04:07 PM
  2. Adaptive bitrate, force a bitrate via HTTPProvider
    By Meinaart in forum Server-side Modules and Code Samples Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-05-2012, 10:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •