Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Silverlight Smooth Streaming in Wowza 3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    27

    Question Silverlight Smooth Streaming in Wowza 3

    Hi,

    After upgrading to version 3, Silverlight Smooth Streaming's videos are no longer playing.

    Everything seems to be correct, the main thumbnail is loaded, but the video does not start.

    Don't know if I miss something but, is there any different configuration that must be made ​​to play SSS in the Wowza 3?

    Regards,

    Ricardo

    PS: I already apply patch 2.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Ricardo,

    There isn't any change for Smooth streaming. Encoding is usually the problem, key frame frequency. Look for info in the access log after the stream starts regarding Key Frame Frequency. If MediaCaster stream (Ip camera, etc) be sure to start in StreamManager first for Smooth streaming.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Maybe you are the facing my second problem. I still had to manually edit the ism file and prefix each src tag iri with 'mp4:'

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    27

    Thumbs up

    Hi spacemanbow,

    Ty for your suggestion.

    I'm testing now, but anyway with the quantity of smoothstreaming videos I have in my server it seems to be impractical way.
    Last edited by hdnetmidia; 10-18-2011 at 07:25 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Hi Richard,

    Looking for info in the access log I noticed that the smooth streaming videos don't boot up, any other suggestions, please?

    Ricardo

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    @Ricardo
    I also consider it to be impractical, but that was the main difference between BigBuckBunny and my own generated media.

    I already posted this limitation in my previous post, but I considered it a limitation of Wowza. As you write it, it was working differently in v2. I'll try it out later on this, I also still have a v2 running over here.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    27

    Default

    @spacemanbow
    I fully agree with you, will be a big headache having to reinstall the version 2 to supply this bug for version 3.

    Not to mention that we are unable to enjoy the new v3 addons.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default SMIL - SmoothStreaming

    Hi to all!
    I am having also issues with SMIL - SS
    I have a stream that I upload with WIRECAST without any trouble to my WOWZA monthly edition OK. This stream is a RTMP H.264/AAC 2.5 Mbps (1280x720)
    I have an application and i pass trought a transcoder and get 3 streams 300Kb/600Kb/1200Kb all H.264/AAC baseline with different resolution (360x240/640x480/1280/720). Key frame is set to 2
    I put on the example player of WOWZA Silverlight demo and my results are this:
    -http://wowza:1935/live/stream-300/Manifest - OK playling without a trouble
    -http://wowza:1935/live/stream-600/Manifest - OK playling without a trouble
    -http://wowza:1935/live/stream-1200/Manifest - OK playling without a trouble
    -http://wowza:1935/live/smil:adap.smil/Manifest - Playing but not change de bitrate always stay at 300 and sometime some kind of lack


    This only happens in SMOOTH STREAMING, with Cupertino OK

    Any help??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Try using the Transcoders ngrp (Named Group) instead of your smil. Ir might be more accurate and have more info for the player

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content.php?304#ABR

    Also, kf the Wowza server is remote from the client, that might be the bandwith that is available.d

    Richard

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default SMIL - SmoothStreaming - NGRP

    Thanks Rrlanham
    I must be missing something.
    I cp transrate.xml (I am using a Wirecast with a preset h.264) and create a myStream.xml with this content.
    My live application in the transcoder part is
    <Transcoder>
    <!-- To turn on transcoder set to: transcoder -->
    <LiveStreamTranscoder>transcoder</LiveStreamTranscoder>
    <!-- [templatename].xml or ${SourceStreamName}.xml -->
    <Templates>/usr/local/WowzaMediaServer-3.5.0/transcoder/templates/myStream.xml</Templates>
    <ProfileDir>${com.wowza.wms.context.VHostConfigHome}/transcoder/profiles</ProfileDir>
    <TemplateDir></TemplateDir>
    <Properties>
    </Properties>
    </Transcoder>

    When I try to play the stream with
    http://wowzaip:1935/live/ngrp:myStre.../playlist.m3u8 the result is

    WARN server comment - HTTPStreamerCupertinoIndexPlaylist.indexFile[live/_definst_/ngrp:myStream_all]: MediaList is empty.

    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WOWZA 3.1, FMLE 3.2, smooth streaming, silverlight/windowsphone/win8 player issue
    By Radek Novotny in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-04-2012, 11:06 AM
  2. Wowza Live Smooth Streaming with Silverlight is behind the Real Time
    By testaccount in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-2012, 07:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •