Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Testing Wowza on LAN - is a 10-20 second delay typical?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Testing Wowza on LAN - is a 10-20 second delay typical?

    Hi there,

    I'm doing some development tests for a client and we're interested in using Wowza for a live streaming application.

    I have deployed Wowza to a local server. This setup is all running on a LAN so there shouldn't be any network latency issues.

    I'm running Flash Media Live Encoder on a Macbook Pro laptop (i5 processors, 4GB RAM). I've set my encoding options for H264 (as we're streaming to iOS devices), bitrate is very low at 200kbps for video and 56 kbps for audio, resolution 320x240/15fps. Audio is MP3 mono 44khz. So...everything is quite low (IMO).

    When testing a live stream to both iPad and iPhone, the latency is around 10-20 seconds. When the above settings were higher they went way up to over 30 seconds.

    As per this guide (http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....re-to-playback), I also included the flushInterval property in the Application.xml file:
    <Property>
    <Name>flushInterval</Name>
    <Value>25</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>

    My question is...is a delay of 10-20 seconds considered 'normal'? What would be an ideal normal range for latency in terms of live streaming? I'm curious to know what others are experiencing so that we have an optimal setup.

    Thanks,

    Leonard
    Last edited by leonardteo; 10-20-2011 at 07:30 AM.

  2. #2

    Default

    This is considered normal for HTTP Live Streaming. The video is segmented into chunks. You might be able to reduce this a little by reducing the chunk size in wowza (if possible).

    With live streaming you should be able to obtain latencies below 1 second. For instance try using VLC to view the stream. You should have a very low latency. With my application I send iOS -> RTP -> Wowza/EC2 -> RTP -> VLC with round trip times around 300 to 500ms. The same could be achieved on iOS if you use RTP to stream into the phone.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,931

    Default

    Hi Leonard
    I think this is what you need here,
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....arameters-(iOS)
    Note that the key frames in your encoder should be set at about 1 second to get the lowest latency due to how HLS works

    Jason

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks guys. With the settings, I got the HTTP streaming delay down to 7 seconds. When testing with RTSP, the delay is almost negligible. Nice.

  5. #5

    Default

    Glad you got it working. There's an inherent delay in any of the HTTP delivery methods because of the packetizing process. With RTMP/RTSP, latency can usually be measured in frames, rather than seconds since the server is simply redistributing them. You add a little bit more if you're using an edge/origin setup, but it's often still sub-second.

    -Ian

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    24

    Default SanJose Streaming behind 50-60sec.

    Hi,

    I am streaming with SanJose/HTTP using Strobe. I have put into place on the Application.xml properties for LiveStreamingPacketizer:

    <Property>
    <Name>cupertinoChunkDurationTarget</Name>
    <Value>8000</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>cupertinoMaxChunkCount</Name>
    <Value>2</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>cupertinoPlaylistChunkCount</Name>
    <Value>2</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>cupertinoRepeaterChunkCount</Name>
    <Value>2</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>

    Before & After of about 50-60 seconds behind real time. I guess these values are for Cupertino, not SJ. If so, anything to help reduce on SanJose/HTTP side ?

    Thanks.

    Edit: I am using Keyframes in FMLE of 2.
    Last edited by matador; 10-28-2011 at 02:18 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    24

    Default

    I have made a change by thinking on my own, to change 'cupertino' to 'sanjose'.

    <Property>
    <Name>sanjoseChunkDurationTarget</Name>
    <Value>8000</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>sanjoseMaxChunkCount</Name>
    <Value>2</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>sanjosePlaylistChunkCount</Name>
    <Value>2</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>sanjoseRepeaterChunkCount</Name>
    <Value>2</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>

    I have put these in LiveStreamPacketizer.xml under sanjose & repeater for both Or+Ed. to be safe.

    I have gotten the delay from Live down to 25 seconds or so. If any other tips for myself + others who might just be browsing this thread, would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Last edited by rrlanham; 10-28-2011 at 05:46 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    24

    Default SanJose Delay

    That seems to refer to as something about Access Control, not settings to lower delay from Live to actual stream viewed.

    But appreciate it no less.

    Thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    Refer to this article for Sanjose settings:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....h-HTTP)-stream

    Richard

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Right, sorry. I grabbed the wrong one. This is correct:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....rs-(Flash-HTTP)

    Richard

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. how can i get Stream form Lan DVR to server wowza madia system
    By abourawash in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-01-2014, 07:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •