Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Choppy HLS Video

  1. #1

    Default Choppy HLS Video

    This one's been quite elusive, and I hope its common enough I just missed something. I've got choppy VOD (not choppy as in poor performance, but choppy like something is wrong) from HLS using iPhone 4, iPad1, and Safari 4 on 10.7. Its like a constant stuttering but only with specifically compressed files. Files also play fine through Quicktime directly and through RTMP/Flash, but through Wowza and HLS stutters.

    It sounds related to this:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/showthre...oppy+video+iOS

    I also verified this (on v2 and v3 of Wowza)
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....arameters-(iOS

    90 key frames @30fps = 3000ms for the cupertinoChunkDurationTarget.

    I've got the issue down to one difference being Main level 3.0 being OK and level 3.1+ has the issue (creating out of Compressor or Squeeze). Even when the above chunking is different I don't have the problem on level 3.0 and down.

    I'll stop there hoping there's a quick fix for this. iPhone 4S handles High now, so jumping at that would be cool to play with. What did I miss?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Try chunkDurationTarget of 6000, then try 9000. Multiples of 3000.

    Also, try encoding with Baseline profile, level 3 instead of Main 3.

    Richard

  3. #3

    Default

    Just to be sure, these properties are being added in the XML to Root/LiveStreamPacketizer/Properties correct? Not Root/Streams/LiveStreamPacketizer/Properties?

  4. #4

    Default

    Oh, and there's a naming difference in the article. In the post the names are "cupertinoXXX" but in the comments they omit "cupertino". For version 3 which is it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

  6. #6

    Default

    Yes I know, I quoted it in the first thread. There's a naming difference in that article though. In the post the names are "cupertinoXXX" but in the comments they omit "cupertino". For version 3 which is it? And just to be sure because its unclear in the article, these properties are being added in the XML to Root/LiveStreamPacketizer/Properties correct? Not Root/Streams/LiveStreamPacketizer/Properties? Otherwise the packet changes are not changing the glitchy video.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,920

    Default

    Hi
    Yes the CupertinoXXX is correct for version 3 (I know you have seen this already) but you should have this,

    <Property>
    <Name>cupertinoChunkDurationTarget</Name>
    <Value>10000</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>cupertinoMaxChunkCount</Name>
    <Value>10</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>cupertinoPlaylistChunkCount</Name>
    <Value>3</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>cupertinoRepeaterChunkCount</Name>
    <Value>3</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>

    Root/LiveStreamPacketizer/Properties is also Correct.
    Obviously you can change the Values as required for you.

    Jason

  8. #8

    Default

    Thanks! Yep, these properties have no effect on the VOD stream, and don't change how the video stutters. Its doing it about 6-7 times a second, though audio plays smooth. I have to wonder if its something else?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    There is vod note:

    Note: You can control the video on demand chunk size by adding the following property to the HTTPStreamer/Properties container:
    <Property>
    	<Name>cupertinoChunkDurationTarget</Name>
    	<Value>10000</Value>
    	<Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>
    Richard

  10. #10

    Default

    Ahhh! Alright, that seems to make the load time change. Still no go on the stutter. Tried several multiples. It seems like if it were a chunking problem, then every 3 seconds (since I'm in 90key @30fps), or a multiple of, there would be some sort of skip. Is that what it looks like if the chunking isn't a multiple?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. VOD Microsoft Smooth Streaming is CHOPPY at high video resolutions
    By mkbarquet in forum On-Demand Streaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-08-2014, 09:19 AM
  2. Choppy Video When Stream Begins
    By ImAStreamer in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2013, 03:15 PM
  3. Choppy video on wi-fi, better on 3g
    By herkules in forum Video On Demand Streaming Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-27-2012, 05:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •