Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Transcoding in origin/edge configuration

  1. #1

    Default Transcoding in origin/edge configuration

    Hi,

    I'm trying to implement smooth streaming using the following configuration:

    • Use one WMS with the transcoder add-on in Windows (so i can transcode using hardware acceleration), using it as origin server.
    • Use one WMS in Linux acting as an edge server, so everybody could connect to it, never to the origin server.
    • Configure smooth streaming on the origin server


    So, basically, what i'm trying to do is use one WMS (almost) as an encoder. The reason i'm doing this is because Wowza can't handle Expression Encoder's live smooth streaming, and also because i want to work with WMS in Linux.

    Is this configuration possible?

    Thanks in advance,

    Germán

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Germán,

    Yes, that is a typical configuration. Make sure to use the repeater LiveStreamPacketizers on the edge.

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....urePacketizers

    Richard

  3. #3

    Default

    Richard:

    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I've got a couple more questions, if you don't mind.

    • For each live stream i want to serve to clients, the edge server only asks for each of them once, no matter how many clients may connect to the edge WMS. Is this correct?
    • The live stream publishing is done on both sides?


    Thanks!,

    Germán

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You publish once to origin, and re-stream from each edge.

    There should be one connection between an edge and the origin for each client type. If you only have Flash clients connecting to the edge there should be one connection from that edge to the origin to repeat to each Flash client that connects to that edge. If you have Cupertino HLS clients, that will be another one repeated to those clients.

    Richard

  5. #5

    Default

    Just to be clear, that's for client type AND for each stream, isn't it?

    Germán

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You can have 9 or 10 (for vod) clients each subscribing to one client stream. When you get that message, or another like it, you have exceeded

    Richard
    Last edited by rrlanham; 11-16-2011 at 01:40 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You can have 9 or 10 (for vod) clients each subscribing to one stream. When you get that message, or another like it, you have exceeded

    Richard

  8. #8

    Default

    Didn't quite get that... what message?, why vod?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    It's all well documented. There are limits to the developer license.

    Richard

  10. #10

    Default

    No no, we do have a monthly licence, but since i do not buy it myself, i had to create a forum member with some kind of licence in order to ask the questions. We have unlimited connections of course.

    I've got one more question regarding the edge/origin architecture: if the edge server has one connection to the origin WMS for each type of client, does it mean that the encapsulation is ALL done by the origin?, in that case, the edge just acts as a proxy?.

    Thanks again!,

    Germán

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Origin To Edge Transcoding Setup Help Needed
    By ImAStreamer in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-12-2013, 12:37 PM
  2. WOWZA 3.5 Origin-Edge Transcoding Problems
    By James nNewman in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-03-2012, 09:48 AM
  3. Transcoding on Edge or Origin? Does it Matter?
    By brad12 in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-10-2012, 11:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •