Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Auto switching between two stream sources

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Auto switching between two stream sources

    Hi!
    Look at my problem:
    I have one camera connected to two providers. Sometimes one of them does not work. Can Wowza switching between two stream sources automatically ?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    There is nothing built-in like that. You could monitor a stream and switch. Wrap the streams in a Stream class stream like this:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....tching-example

    And monitor the source something like this:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....tream-Watchdog

    Then you can do switch when you detect a problem.

    Richard

  3. #3

    Default

    Is it possible to have the switch happen from the server-side without the client having to know which playlist item to switch to?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    The way I pointed to is server-side switching (and monitoring), it does not involve any client.

    Richard
    Last edited by rrlanham; 12-29-2011 at 10:06 AM.

  5. #5

    Default

    My bad, Richard. Just noticed that.

    After implementing the stream switching, I noticed that there is a lag when switching from a VOD stream to a live stream as the live stream buffers (http://www.wowza.com/forums/showthre...Buffering-Time). Do you have any suggestions on how to start up the live stream when it is published but only switch when the live stream is properly buffered? Is there a way to tell from the stream that it is "ready to go"?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    That would be client-side buffering. If it is Flash RTMP client, try setting Netstream buffer to 0.

    Richard
    Last edited by rrlanham; 01-03-2012 at 11:07 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Scratch the NetStream buffer suggestion. Apply patch 12, which changes the behavior in this case (switching to a live stream): Wowza will start on the live stream's previous key frame instead of next key frame. This adds some latency, depending on key frame frequency and when the client starts playing the stream. You can switch back to previous behavior like this:

    stream.setStartLiveOnPreviousKeyFrame(false);
    Richard
    Last edited by rrlanham; 01-03-2012 at 11:46 AM.

  8. #8

    Default

    What about switching streams with RTP ingress? Using the examples you provided above with RTP, the publish event fires about every three seconds. Is there an event for when RTP gets "published" that will not treat each ingress chunk as a new publish event?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    I'm not sure if I understand. To RTP ingress in StreamClass stream, make sure the RTP stream is started in StreamManager if is MediaCaster stream. If the source is RTP push, it is not necessary to start in StreamManager.

    Richard

  10. #10

    Arrow Livestream repeat from different application

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    There is nothing built-in like that. You could monitor a stream and switch. Wrap the streams in a Stream class stream like this:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....tching-example

    And monitor the source something like this:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....tream-Watchdog

    Then you can do switch when you detect a problem.

    Richard


    Hi Richard,

    I've done a setup with some of the results which your forum gaves me. I've posted something. Have you any idea or hint for me?

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/showthre...t-Applications

    The main problem seems to be that the Wowza Application can't connect via .stream File to another stream. But if I use the
    content 1:1 from the .stream file as a streamname... it works.

    From the example here : http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....er-Quick-Start

    --snip--
    RTMP
    To play the stream in Adobe Flash Player, double-click [install-dir]/examples/LiveVideoStreaming/FlashRTMPPlayer/player.html, enter the information below, and then click the Connect button.
    
    Server: rtmp://[wowza-edge-address]:1935/liveedge
    Stream: rtmp://[wowza-origin-address]:1935/liveorigin/_definst_/[stream-name]
    
    Where [wowza-edge-address] is the IP address of an edge server running Wowza Media Server, [wowza-origin-address] is the IP address of the origin server running Wowza Media Server, and [stream-name] is the name of the live stream being sent to the origin server.
    
    Note: You can substitute the name of a .stream file on the origin server in place of the complex URL in Stream. For more information, see Using simple stream names.
    --snip--

    I always get via .stream file the following : LiveMediaStreamReceiver.connect: failure

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Live streaming webcam and switching sources freezing
    By myboynoy in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-29-2014, 05:52 AM
  2. Switching between two Wowza application sources
    By Atmapuri in forum General Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-13-2013, 01:19 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2012, 12:36 AM
  4. How to make one "mountpoint" with multiple sources/ redundant sources? (Like Icecast)
    By StefanBC in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-10-2011, 05:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •