Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Transcoder add-on and load balancing/origin/edge

  1. #1

    Default Transcoder add-on and load balancing/origin/edge

    My application requires that I have one Wowza instance that will receive incoming streams and repeat those streams to edge instances. This is not an issue; I've done load balancing and origin/edge installations a couple of times before with no problems.

    My question is this: I will also need to make use of the Transcoder add-on to do on-the-fly transrating. I am assuming that only the origin/load balancing master needs to run the Transcoder, and the edge machines will suck the appropriate stream from the origin. Is this correct, or do the edge instances also have to run the Transcoder add-on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    That is right. The edge servers don't know about the Transcoder, there will just be streams available to pull from the origin

    Richard

  3. #3

    Default

    Excellent. Thanks for the speedy answer.

Similar Threads

  1. Understanding edge/origin setup and load balancing question.
    By fly135 in forum Server Administration
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-16-2014, 11:37 AM
  2. Add Load Balancing Edge-Origin Configuration?
    By mmangold@oakland.edu in forum Server Administration Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-21-2014, 09:03 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2013, 02:42 AM
  4. Load Balancing edge-origin
    By Moresheth in forum Server Administration Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-01-2013, 10:28 AM
  5. NGRP on origin/edge + load balancing with dynamic stream names
    By confusedUser in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-06-2012, 12:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •