Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: start wowza server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default start wowza server

    Hi ,

    I have been using wowza from few days on linux , i know how to start it using shell command from remote computer , but when i close this shell window then wowza stops , this is very strange thing because i need to keep my computer always on , just to keep running wowza from putty shell command ,

    is there not any way so that i start wowza and keep on running in-spite i close shell window .

    Also i am using wowza for live streaming so i want to know how often should i restart wowza and how often should i restart my dedicated server.

    also there will be around 1500-2000 concurrent viewers during live show , will wowza be able handle it , right now i am using trial version but i will be buying within 30 days .

  2. #2

    Default

    Hello krishnapal,

    1. You can run Wowza as a service. See the User Guide section "Starting and Stopping the Server".

    2. Unless there's a memory leak somewhere, you should not have to restart the server.

    3. There is no practical limit on the number of streams Wowza can support. Your hardware and bandwidth limitations depend on various factors. A fast dual-core, or quad-core server will be fine for ~2000 streams, limited only by your bandwidth.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Hi ,

    these are specifications of my dedicated server :

    CPU: Intel 8300 Quad Core
    Operating System: CentOS-5
    Memory (RAM): 4 GB
    First Hard Disk: 500 GB SATA
    Second Hard Disk: 500 GB SATA
    RAID: None
    Bandwidth: 100 Mbps Unmetered

    can you please let me know if these are okay for my need of doing live streaming for concurrent 2000 users and we have livestream event every day .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    The server is okay, but 100mbs network interface (nic) is not adequate. We recommend at least 1gbs. You get about 800mbs out of 1gbs nic (minus 20% overhead). If the your live stream is 500kbs, that is 1600 streams. So you will need 2gbs nic.

    Wowza has a load test tool that you can get by writing to test@wowza.com. There is a document to sign and return.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Many Thanks Richard for this info ,

    We stream at a very low rate of 200 KBPS not at 500 kbps , but i will still try to use higher bandwidth NIC , do you suggest any good and reliable provider.

    Also one more question : i want to use auto-pilot type feature of LIVESTREAM.com , so that whenever there is no live event then a recorded video should play , is this possible ? can you please guide on this ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Take a look at the Wowza partners page for provider options:
    http://www.wowza.com/partners

    For your requirement, one option is Stream class streams. Take a look at these examples:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....-Class-Example
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....t-in-smil-file
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....eam-controller
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....tching-example

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. Help wowza server will not start ..
    By inforsepulveda in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-29-2013, 09:19 AM
  2. cannot start wowza server
    By som1987 in forum Tutorials Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-27-2012, 11:06 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-09-2012, 09:55 AM
  4. I can not start Wowza Server
    By dembuongactro in forum Tutorials Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-01-2012, 03:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •