Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Wowza3, transcoder add-on, and FreeBSD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Question Wowza3, transcoder add-on, and FreeBSD

    Hello,

    Would the transcoder add-on for Wowza Media Server 3.0.3 build882, run on FreeBSD 8.2-RELEASE-p6?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    I don't think FreeBSD has been tested with Transcoder. I know that some customers use Wowza on FreeBSD, but others have had problems getting Wowza running on it.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Yeah, this is the last thing I see logged that is related to the transcoder.

    2012-01-27	14:03:12	EST	publish	stream	INFO	200	testlive	-	_defaultVHost_	live_video_mbr	_definst_	0.0030	[any]	1935	rtmp://stgwowza3/live_video_mbr/	204.141.14.113	rtmp	rtmp://stgwowza3/live_video_mbr/	FMLE/3.0 (compatible; FMSc/1.0)	1043631710	3549	3606	1	0	0	0	testlive	videoKeyframeFrequency=2&totalDatarate=1548	-	-	-	-	rtmp://stgwowza3/live_video_mbr//testlive?videoKeyframeFrequency=2&totalDatarate=1548	rtmp://stgwowza3/live_video_mbr//testlive	videoKeyframeFrequency=2&totalDatarate=1548	rtmp://stgwowza3/live_video_mbr/	-
    2012-01-27	14:03:13	EST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	TranscoderSessionNative.loadLibrary: Load transcoder list: /usr/local/WowzaMediaServer/lib-native/linux64/transcoder.list	-	-	-	184.935	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-01-27	14:03:13	EST	comment	server	DEBUG	200	-	TranscoderSessionNative.loadLibrary: /usr/local/WowzaMediaServer/lib-native/linux64/libgcc_s.so.1	-	-	-	184.935	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    24

    Default

    I run Wowza exclusively on FreeBSD. But the transcoder won't work out of the box. At the very least, like you spotted, will need the Linux Compat. port installed to get the libc libraries, etc..

    I know we BSD nuts are loyal, and I am also about to use the transcoder, but will do so on Windows. For sure you won't get the GPU acceleration on FreeBSD.

    Good luck.

  5. #5

    Default

    Hi guys, have some timeline for be available, Nvidia transcoding addon with Linux box? or EC2 Tesla GPU instance? I think will be great for all can use AWS EC2 Nvidia Tesla Instance for transcode HD streaming into multiple streams

    Thanks,
    Ale

Similar Threads

  1. Using Transcoder Add on to Disable Audio in the output
    By manojprasath in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-28-2013, 08:23 AM
  2. Transcoder Add-on quality and CBR vs. VBR
    By smokee in forum Tutorials Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-19-2012, 05:04 AM
  3. Odd transcoder add-on behaviour
    By german in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-05-2011, 03:58 PM
  4. Wirecast -> wowza3 transcoder
    By stevei in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-27-2011, 06:02 AM
  5. Doubt about PassThru on Wowza Transcoder Add-On
    By HelderConde in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2011, 05:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •