Thread: Need Advice On Selecting AMI's and Setting Up Scaling Solution

Default Need Advice On Selecting AMI's and Setting Up Scaling Solution

Greetings!

We are producing an upcoming live-formatted wine and food show and plan on using Wirecast with EC2. My background is animation and video, not Wowza server administration. We've done a great deal of promoting the show [our first air date is Sunday, March 4th] and there is really no way of telling how many concurrent viewers will be logging on to watch.

I have successfully launched small instances and streamed from Wirecast, so I get that part. However, we are not sure how to set up a scaling solution to accommodate as many people as may view the broadcast. I've seen a lot of responses in this forum that points folks to user guides, but they quickly get to techie for my simple mind. I need advice that is broken down into layman's terms, that I can easily understand without a lot of tech jargon.

I've heard the term 'load balancing'. I don't know if that is what we need but ultimately what I am looking for is a solution that will scale and accommodate as many users that will watch our stream.

If there isn't a simple solution, I would be willing to pay the right person a consultation fee to help set us up. Hopefully it won't require that and with some guidance, I can get this going on my own.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Hi
    First of all I'll need to know the following:
    1.) An estimate of concurrent connections that you would like to get
    2.) The bitrate of the stream in which you are broadcasting to Wowza

The Amazon EC2's come in different sizes and the rule of thumb for performance is this:

Small - 150mbps
    Large - 250mbps
    X-Large - 350mbps

With a 512kbps stream you are looking at almost doubling each number and only having one machine.