Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Troubleshooting: Cannot access stream manager with web browser

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Troubleshooting: Cannot access stream manager with web browser

    Good afternoon everyone.

    I'm trying to re-stream an Axis IP camera, and I'm working through the steps (make folders, Application.xml, camera.stream, admin.password, starting wowza), but I've encountered a road block trying to access the stream manager. I've tried to visit this link...

    http://[wowza-ip-address]:8086/streammanager (substuting with the actual wowza IP of course)


    ...but every web browser I've used can't find it. We're working on a brand new server with WMS3. Can anyone please offer some insights to what could cause this problem or offer troubleshooting advice. I couldn't find anything in the documentation, forum, or users' guide.

    Thanks for reading!

  2. #2

    Default

    Troubleshooting steps:

    Run Wowza from a CMD prompt using [Wowza]/bin/startup.bat. Then post the console output here so we can see if Wowza is binding to port 8086. If it is, then test that you can connect from the server computer using a web browser. You can use a command-line browser like links or lynx. Then turn off your firewall and test from a remote computer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Also try adding "index.html":
    http://[wowza-address]:8086/streammanager/index.html
    Richard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by randall View Post
    Troubleshooting steps:
    Run Wowza from a CMD prompt using [Wowza]/bin/startup.bat. Then post the console output here so we can see if Wowza is binding to port 8086.

    Configure logging: file:///D:/Program Files (x86)/Wowza Media Systems/Wowza Media Server 3.0.5/conf/log4j.properties
    INFO server server-start Wowza Media Server 3 Trial Edition (Expires: Mar 31, 2012) 3.0.5 build1220 -
    INFO server comment - Server License Key: SVRT3-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-jDRUh
    INFO server comment - Maximum Connections: Unlimited
    INFO server comment - Transcoder Streams Available: Unlimited
    INFO server comment - Transcoder Watermark: Yes
    INFO server comment - nDVR Available: Yes
    INFO server comment - DRM Available: Yes
    INFO server comment - Hardware Available Processors: 8
    INFO server comment - Hardware Physical Memory: 15070MB/16373MB
    INFO server comment - Hardware Swap Space: 31153MB/32745MB
    INFO server comment - Max File Descriptor Count: Unlimited
    INFO server comment - OS Name: Windows Server 2008 R2
    INFO server comment - OS Version: 6.1
    INFO server comment - OS Architecture: amd64
    INFO server comment - OS CPU: amd64
    INFO server comment - Java Name: Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM
    INFO server comment - Java Vendor: Oracle Corporation
    INFO server comment - Java Version: 1.7.0_03
    INFO server comment - Java VM Version: 22.1-b02
    INFO server comment - Java Spec Version: 1.7
    INFO server comment - Java Home: D:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.7.0_03\jre
    INFO server comment - Java Max Heap Size: 682MB
    INFO server comment - Java Architecture: 64
    INFO server comment - Java Locale[user.language]: en
    INFO server comment - Java Locale[user.country]: US
    INFO server comment - Java Locale[user.variant]:
    INFO server comment - Java Locale[file.encoding]: Cp1252
    INFO server comment - Java Args[0]: -Xmx768M
    INFO server comment - Java Args[1]: -Dcom.sun.management.jmxremote=true
    INFO server comment - Java Args[2]: -Dcom.wowza.wms.runmode=standalone
    INFO server comment - Java Args[3]: -Dcom.wowza.wms.native.base=win
    INFO server comment - Java Args[4]: -Dcom.wowza.wms.ConfigURL=
    INFO server comment - Server runmode: standalone
    INFO server comment - Server native.platform: win
    INFO server comment - Server threads[h/t]: 10/10
    INFO server comment - CMDInterface now listening: [any]:8083
    INFO vhost vhost-start _defaultVHost_ -
    INFO server comment - _defaultVHost_ threads[h/t]:120/80 home:D:/Program Files (
    x86)/Wowza Media Systems/Wowza Media Server 3.0.5
    INFO vhost comment _defaultVHost_ Bind attempt ([any]:1935:4)
    INFO vhost comment _defaultVHost_ Bind successful ([any]:1935)
    INFO vhost comment _defaultVHost_ Bind attempt ([any]:8086:1)
    INFO vhost comment _defaultVHost_ Bind successful ([any]:8086)
    INFO server comment - Wowza Media Server is started!

    I'm seeing "INFO vhost comment _defaultVHost_ Bind attempt ([any]:8086:1)" and "INFO vhost comment _defaultVHost_ Bind successful ([any]:8086)", so I guess it's binding and that's not the problem.




    Quote Originally Posted by randall View Post
    If it is, then test that you can connect from the server computer using a web browser. You can use a command-line browser like links or lynx. Then turn off your firewall and test from a remote computer.
    I can't connect to the server at all using a web browser. I'm working under somebody on this, and I know the server does NOT have IIS set up. He thinks that it isn't needed and that WMS is capable of serving HTTP on it's own. Is this really the case?? I'm almost 100% certain not having IIS is the problem here. So..

    Does WMS3 need IIS to serve the stream manager? WMS3 is NOT able to serve http on it's own, correct?



    Thanks again for reading and for replying Richard and Randall!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    IIS is not required. Wowza has HTTPProviders:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....-httpproviders

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....e-Server-Stats

    The built-in StreamManager is also an HTTPProvider

    Richard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    IIS is not required. Wowza has HTTPProviders:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....-httpproviders

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....e-Server-Stats

    The built-in StreamManager is also an HTTPProvider

    Richard
    We have the firewall off. And still have no luck. I tried just entering....

    http://[wowza-address]:8086/serverinfo
    http://[wowza-address]:8086/connectioncounts
    http://[wowza-address]:8086/connectioninfo

    And none of those show anything at all. I keep getting browser can't connect errors after a 2 minute wait after entering each address. I see documentation form Richard for customized output, but I just need this to work in it's basic form. We have VHost.xml, TCP 8086 is opened, admin.password set to "myuser mypassword" etc. and no HTTP content shows at all. No browser can show any HTTP output from wowza. It makes absolutely no sense why this very basic feature doesn't work. This stage doesn't even involve video and there's problems. Do you guys have any other ideas, because I'm out of them. It sounds HTTP providers should work right out of the box and it doesn't.


    Thanks again for helping a novice through this.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Zip up and send conf and logs to support@wowza.com

    Include URL or the server so we can test.

    Include a link to the thread for reference

    Richard

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Was this ever solved? I am having the exact same issue's, none of the HTTPProviders are working default out of the box.

    Thanks

    /GC


    UPDATE: Submitted ticket to support.
    Last edited by ilovebaseball; 12-03-2012 at 12:54 PM.

  9. #9

    Exclamation

    same situation here , how was this resolved ? my was working fine , but this morning i rebooted the server and wowza restarted but i had no access to streammanager. i will like to know how this was resolved . thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    What version of Wowza? Has anything changed? Have you added any HTTPProviders to the /conf/VHost.xml /HostPort (/Port "8086")?

    Richard

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to Connect to Wowza Streaming Engine Manager on the browser
    By pheelleap in forum Performance and Tuning
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-04-2015, 08:06 AM
  2. stream manager access
    By dirtystar in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-15-2012, 06:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •