Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: seek accuracy?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default seek accuracy?

    Hi,

    I'm developing a website/flash application that can record and later synchronise two flv netstreams. Up until now we've been using fms but am just testing both wowza and red5.

    In both cases I'm finding ns.seek(number) is not very accurate compared to fms. I'm guessing it is seeking only to keyframes and not to the accuracy of milliseconds within the stream as fms can. Can anyone confirm this is the case?

    The website is for musicians so millisecond accuracy is very important.

    thanks muchly.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Frank,

    Add this Property setting to the /conf/[app-name]/Application.xml /Streams /Properties list:

    <Property>
    	<Name>seekTarget</Name>
    	<Value>enhanced</Value>
    </Property>
    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    thanks, very helpful.. I wasn't sure where to find this info at first.
    It seems to be working, www.vongplay.com

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    Frank,

    Add this Property setting to the /conf/[app-name]/Application.xml /Streams /Properties list:

    <Property>
    	<Name>seekTarget</Name>
    	<Value>enhanced</Value>
    </Property>
    Richard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Richard,

    I have a similar problem. We use the server to review short (less than 30 second) spots and when we scrub anywhere in the first 10 seconds it always starts over. I have used the above property to no avail. The streams are from .mov files in mp4 format.

    Any ideas?

    Scott

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Scott,

    Make sure that property is the correct Properties list (/Streams /Properties).

    Higher fps and/or lower gop might help.

    Richard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    FPS is already at 30. don't have access to change gop. But can enable settings for streaming as "max packet sizes" and "max packet duration". We will set the duration for 100 milliseconds, not sure if it will make a difference.

    And yes, I did have the setting under the Streams area of the file. that part does get a bit confusing.

    I used enhanced, what is the most precise setting within that property?

    thanks for the help,

    Scott

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    The most precise setting is "enhanced"

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. IPad seek accuracy
    By tkordic@itekako.com in forum Media Players and Devices Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-2012, 07:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •