Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: RTMP VOD cannot play - "Missing function: startTransmit"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    28

    Default RTMP VOD cannot play - "Missing function: startTransmit"

    I have a Android 4.0.3 Tablet from customer to test.
    It is workable to play live stream.
    When it plays VOD URL like "rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2/mp4:sample.mp4", it only plays 2~3 seconds and then stops.
    The access log:

    2012-03-19  15:23:30    CST connect-pending session INFO    100 192.168.0.253   -   _defaultVHost_  vod2    _definst_   0.013   [any]   1935    rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2    192.168.0.253   rtmp    http://61.220.160.169/SimpleVideoStreaming/client/simplevideostreaming.swf  AND 11,1,115,7  607302325   3480    3073    -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2    -
    2012-03-19  15:23:30    CST connect session INFO    200 192.168.0.253   -   _defaultVHost_  vod2    _definst_   0.013   [any]   1935    rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2    192.168.0.253   rtmp    http://61.220.160.169/SimpleVideoStreaming/client/simplevideostreaming.swf  AND 11,1,115,7  607302325   3480    3073    -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2    -
    2012-03-19  15:23:30    CST create  stream  INFO    200 -   -   _defaultVHost_  vod2    _definst_   0.0010  [any]   1935    rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2    192.168.0.253   rtmp    http://61.220.160.169/SimpleVideoStreaming/client/simplevideostreaming.swf  AND 11,1,115,7  607302325   3552    3413    1   -   0   0   -   -   -   -   0   0.0 rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2    rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2    -   rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2    -
    2012-03-19  15:23:30    CST comment server  INFO    200 -   PlaylistPlayer.play[vod2/_definst_/sample.mp4]: Dynamic Stream Markers are on.  -   -   -   1055.008    -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -
    2012-03-19  15:23:30    CST play    stream  INFO    200 sample.mp4  -   _defaultVHost_  vod2    _definst_   0.019   [any]   1935    rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2    192.168.0.253   rtmp    http://61.220.160.169/SimpleVideoStreaming/client/simplevideostreaming.swf  AND 11,1,115,7  607302325   3599    3455    1   0   0   0   sample.mp4  -   /usr/local/WowzaMediaServer/content mp4 39115156    596.458 rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2/sample.mp4.mp4 rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2/sample.mp4.mp4 -   rtmp://192.168.0.30/vod2    -
    2012-03-19  15:23:31    CST comment server  WARN    200 -   Missing function: startTransmit -   -   -   1055.347    -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -
    2012-03-19  15:23:31    CST comment server  WARN    200 -   Missing function: startTransmit -   -   -   1055.356    -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -
    2012-03-19  15:23:31    CST comment server  WARN    200 -   Missing function: startTransmit -   -   -   1055.462    -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -
    So..
    What the warning message "Missing function: startTransmit" means?
    Or something could be wrong in device?

    Thanks,
    Roy

  2. Default

    It means the client application (app or .swf running on the android device) is calling a server function named startTransmit that does not exist in your application module.

    That shouldn't cause Wowza to stop streaming. My guess is that the client side application is expecting a response to that method call, and it's the client that is stopping the stream. The wowza access log should give you more definitive answers.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    28

    Default

    The wowza access log shows "Missing function: startTransmit" and does not show any message below.

    After some test, I found it always occurs in Flash 11.1.115.7.
    The server does not stop stream, but the Flash player is always buffering and cannot play video.
    If I seek the stream by dragging progress bar, the Flash player can play normally.

    Is there any solution to avoid this situation?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Thanks for the info. I will look into it more and get back to you here and let you know what I find.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    What browser/device do you have Flash 11.1.115.7 on?

    Latest desktop version is 11,1,102,63

    http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

    Richard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    28

    Default

    The device is Samsung Galaxy Nexus (Android version 4.0.2).
    The browser is native browser.

    Thanks,
    Roy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Hello Richard

    Is there any update information?

    Thanks,
    Roy

  8. #8

    Default

    Roy,

    I tested on a Galaxy Nexus S Android ver. 4.0.3 and I also could not play RTMP streams due to a Flash error. RTSP worked. That's all the info I have. Can you mention which versions of Flash it does work on?

    Also, which Flash player are you using? Do you see the error using one of the Wowza Flash clients?

  9. #9

    Default

    An update for you: Flash/RTMP is working for me with whatever current version of Flash is available in the Play store at the moment. (I didn't have the device for long, so I wasn't able to check which version it was).

    Tested on: Galaxy Nexus S Android ver. 4.0.3

    If you're still having trouble. Maybe a system update to Android 4.0.3 will help.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default missing function "startTransmit"

    Quote Originally Posted by randall View Post
    An update for you: Flash/RTMP is working for me with whatever current version of Flash is available in the Play store at the moment. (I didn't have the device for long, so I wasn't able to check which version it was).

    Tested on: Galaxy Nexus S Android ver. 4.0.3

    If you're still having trouble. Maybe a system update to Android 4.0.3 will help.
    I appreciate that this may be old, but in case anyone else is also looking... the adobe media server documentation says that the flash client will sent "startTransmit" when its buffer is too low to sustain playback to try and force the server to send it some data irrespective of whether the server has locally buffered enough. Conversely, it will send "stopTransmit" when the client's local buffer is full. I'm guessing that whilst it may result in stuttered playback, on mobile devices with fluctuating connection speeds over 3G, any assumptions the server makes about bandwidth is probably flawed and this seems to be the way in which Adobe has decided to tackle the problem.

    It would be useful to support this feature, albeit non-standard, within Wowza rather than filling the log with these error messages.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-2011, 09:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •