Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Creating screenshots

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Creating screenshots

    am new to the Wowza server and Java. And I need help.
    I use Wirecast and Wowza to stream video on the site.
    I have a site that shows a list of all my live streams and screenshots of them.
    I searched in the forum, how to make screenshots (jpg or png) of live video, but did not find an answer.
    I noticed that there is a plugin "ModuleCreateSnapshot". The manual describes how to work with this plugin using a flash client. But I do not use the flash client.

    Is there a way to make Wowza automatically create screenshots of the video (eg, every 10 minutes) and save them in a special folder on the hard disk while recording of live video? I mean to do this without using any flash clients.

    If possible, please write in detail how to do it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    That this module is included in Wowza Module Collection so you do not have to build the code

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....CreateSnapshot

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    That this module is included in Wowza Module Collection so you do not have to build the code

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....CreateSnapshot

    Richard
    Thank you.
    But I don't understand how to use this plugin without flash client. Can I use PHP?
    Last edited by ivanvia; 04-02-2012 at 07:18 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I'm having the same issue!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    If you need hands-on help with Flash applications or HTTPProviders, write to support@wowza.com and ask for list of independent consultants

    Richard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I read that Transcoder AddOn has the option to request a thumbnail image of a stream:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....wza-Transcoder
    Is there a way to do what ivanvia wants using this feature of the transcoder? I want to do exactly the same so I would find it useful too.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You can do what is described with the thumbnails. It is a lot of front-end work that we don't have guidance on, as it will depend on your app server and there are many approaches and elements, the thumbnails produced by Wowza being just one part.

    Richard

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thank you all.
    I think I can solve my problem with the HTTPProvider and Wowza Transcoder.

Similar Threads

  1. Make screenshots with FFMPEG
    By rubensd in forum Server-side Modules and Code Samples Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-05-2013, 11:37 PM
  2. Extracting ScreenShots
    By josnidhin in forum AddOn: Wowza nDVR
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-27-2011, 06:48 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-23-2011, 08:32 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •