Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Once more about switching between "live live" stream and "file-based live" stream

Default Once more about switching between "live live" stream and "file-based live" stream

Hi all,

can anybody help me?

I am new in WMS and I'm testing WMS in hope to run it on our own server as a replacement for Ustream.TV hosting. I don't want much from WMS for now. The only thing I want from it for the beginning is to support a single live stream, which can be switched (transparently for the users) between 2 sources:

1) "a real live stream" from the Adobe Live Encoder and
    2) "file based stream" generated from the previously recorded video.

So I've set up WMS, installed a developer license and read a half-dozen threads on this forum related to my problem (all I could find). The solution from this thread: http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....tching-example seemed to be the least frightening (I don't feel myself a very experienced Java programmer), so I choose it as a base for my investigation. I've written a module initializing the application with two playlists, live and pre-recorded, and replaced Flash client interface with HTTP-provider (because I have'not Adobe Flash to write Flash-based applets).

Now I have the following problem. If the application starts with a stream source set initially to the pre-recorded file, I can see a pre-recorded video until I try to switch the stream to the live source. At this moment a movie stops and remains stopped until I switch the source back to the pre-recorded file. Then it goes on.

If I start my application initially set to the live source, I don't see any video at all, both live and pre-recorded. Switchng sources does not make any visual effects.

If I set up my application (just for the experiment) to use two file-based sources, all goes well and I see two videos switching in JWPlayer on my HTTP-requests.