Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: MediaCache balancing across MediaCacheStores

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    27

    Question MediaCache balancing across MediaCacheStores

    I've configured more than one store for the mediacache. So far, Wowza hasn't used the second store (which I have tested by commenting out the first).

    What's Wowza's strategy for using that second store? I was hoping for a round-robin approach so I can divvy up the I/O among two disks.

    I have a scalability issue in EC2 - I've maxed out the I/O on one disk. I've configured the second store to hit the second ephemeral drive.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    It is supposed to act similar to RAID 0 array.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Sorry Richard but I'm simply not seeing that occur. I'm playing four VOD streams at the moment and all the data is going to the first store.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    It seems to work by overflow.

    I set up two MediaStore blocks, both default settings. When I streamed one file I see no data in the 2nd store, just folders.

    If I change the first MediaCacheStore /MaxSize from "50G" to "1M", then stream one file, I do see data in the 2nd store.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Ok, thanks Richard.

    Are there plans to introduce a striping mode? It would really help us out in the EC2 cloud where we have limited ability to fix I/O problems.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    I will have to get more info next week on this, but from previous conversations it is my understand that you should get similar benefit. I can only see from simple test that one trigger is overflow from MaxSize limit, but I think there are other triggers for distribution.

    Did you know that you can setup RAID 0 on EC2 with EBS volumes? Search for "EC2 RAID EBS"

    But just mounting multiple EBS volumes and configured MediaCacheStores to use each of them should provide substantial benefit.

    Richard

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Ok... Looking forward to hear more.

    Yeah, I can know I can do that, but lots of extra work. This approach was the easiest way to go about it. It's not a huge issue right now as we have 5 servers up. However, would like to consolidate at some point soon.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Also note that I don't think you will get much or any benefit from multiple MediaCacheStores pointing to the the same disk. You should at least mount one EBS volume and point one of the stores to it.

    Richard

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    27

    Default

    I know, EC2 comes with 2 ephemeral drives, both of which are 400GB+ and both are configured as individual stores.

Similar Threads

  1. LoadBalancer not balancing
    By dmahoney in forum AddOn: Other AddOns
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2012, 06:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •