Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Hardware question for transcoding live stream

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Hardware question for transcoding live stream

    I need to setup a server for a single live stream that we want to transcode/transrate.

    I am looking at a server with the following specs:

    Quad Core Xeon 5430 2.66 Ghz / 8GB RAM / 2x500GB HDD / 100TB BW / 1 GiGE Port

    Does it need a RAID solution for transcoded live streaming? Or, will the above specs suffice?

    At this point, we are looking at 100 - 1000 external connections.

    What should the max bitrate be to allow 1000 connections at a time?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,934

    Default

    Hi
    The above server will do fine for transcoding one live stream.
    Live streaming doesn't require a RAID set-up.

    If you have 1000 connections at once this will be made up of the source stream and the transcoded streams to make an average bitrate, depending on how many transcodes you have and at what bitrate they are determines the average. How many transcoded streams are you going to be publishing?
    or do you wish to do the calculations on the source stream alone?

    Jason

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonH View Post
    Hi
    The above server will do fine for transcoding one live stream.
    Live streaming doesn't require a RAID set-up.

    If you have 1000 connections at once this will be made up of the source stream and the transcoded streams to make an average bitrate, depending on how many transcodes you have and at what bitrate they are determines the average. How many transcoded streams are you going to be publishing?
    or do you wish to do the calculations on the source stream alone?

    Jason
    I am thinking to have two transcoded streams. One 360p and the other 160p.

  4. #4

    Default

    "Quad Core Xeon 5430 2.66 Ghz / 8GB RAM / 2x500GB HDD / 100TB BW / 1 GiGE Port"
    "What should the max bitrate be to allow 1000 connections at a time?"

    Answer: 1Mbit/s

    The bottleneck will be the 1Gbit network limit. You should be able to serve many more streams, if you are only transcoding 2 streams.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you!

    Very helpful.

Similar Threads

  1. AWS EC2 Live transcoding - Hardware Accleration
    By sathishkumarkps in forum Wowza Streaming Engine in the Cloud
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-10-2014, 12:08 AM
  2. Hardware requirements for transcoding 25 channels
    By karelboek in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-17-2013, 03:56 AM
  3. Hardware Question
    By nkaroly in forum Performance Tuning Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-02-2012, 05:02 AM
  4. Transcoding not working after server hardware upgrade....
    By AnthonyBaratta in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-13-2012, 09:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •