Wowza Community

Windows 2008 R2 Service

I am new to WOWZA and have installed it. If I run the startup.bat the service starts. however, if I try to start it from the service control panel, I get an error 1067 operation failed. Is there something I am missing here? I have it set to use a specific account, and have also tried logona s a service but neither one works. I have JRE7 installed and have my JAVA_HOME env set as well.

Hello haarvik,

Is there more to the Windows error message? Which version of Wowza?

Sounds like something went wrong with your installation. Try uninstalling Wowza, rebooting, and re-installing Wowza.

Another user had a similar error here, which was a typo.

JAVA_HOME is an environment variable. Search for “edit the system environment variables”

Richard

Mine is set to C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.7.0

Richard

Start > “edit the system environment variables”

Richard

This is set at the top of /bin/WowzaMediaServer-Service.conf:

wrapper.java.command=%JAVA_HOME%\bin\java.exe

Richard

I don’t think there is any other place in Wowza that it might be happening.

Richard

You have an extra “bin” folder in your Java path for some reason. Set your JAVA_HOME=C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\JRE6\bin. Or, even better, install JDK1.7.

I found what the issue is, just not sure where to correct it. The wowza log file is saying it can’t find C:\Program Files(x86)\Java\JRE6\bin\bin\java.exe.

My JAVA_HOME is set to C:\Program Files(x86)\Java\JRE6. So where would I fix the path that the service is trying to find which is incorrect?

here is the log error:

–> Wrapper Started as Service

STATUS | wrapper | 2012/05/05 06:51:38 | Launching a JVM…

FATAL | wrapper | 2012/05/05 06:51:38 | Unable to execute Java command. The system cannot find the file specified. (0x2)