Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Live stream configuration, how to

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Question Live stream configuration, how to

    Hello,

    I am working now with wowza trial evrsion, as my company intents to purchase it, thinking that it suits our needs better than others.

    What is the goal:
    we have 4 video streams coming on video capture cards, want to encode it and send to server.
    Server will share it with flash web player to customers (apprx 1000 online user). so, we want, that customers use server-user traffic (stream kbps X 1000 user), and not encoder server - media server traffic.

    what Am i testing now:
    got live stream on encoder computer (192.168.0.34)
    sending it to media server (192.168.0.1 internal, xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx external) via wirecast.

    starting wowza, installing examples, using examle livevideostreaming/client application, put there
    server: rtmp://localhost/live
    Stream: mystream

    works! on the server itself only

    BUT, I can not get this video to be working from outside computer, not from lan, not from internet,
    Tried copy "client" folder into wwwroot, but it says that stream not found
    created player on osmf.org, but also says client not found

    so, can you help me? is it the correct way we are going to use wowza? or should we use just restream function?
    we have to spear traffic between encoder-server, so user should use user-server traffic

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    In your router you need to port forward TCP port 1935 to the computer running Wowza.

    And use a public IP in the player instead of localhost. If you don't know what it is, you can see it here: http://www.dnsstuff.com

    Put the client files on a public web server, or one that you have port forward TCP port 80 to so can be reached with your public IP.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    In your router you need to port forward TCP port 1935 to the computer running Wowza.

    And use a public IP in the player instead of localhost. If you don't know what it is, you can see it here: http://www.dnsstuff.com

    Put the client files on a public web server, or one that you have port forward TCP port 80 to so can be reached with your public IP.

    Richard
    Richard, thanks for reply

    there is no router, wowza server is internet gateway its

    so anyway, client folder shared on webserver should work from http://myip/client/live.hmtl ? is it correct?

    so the problem is ports only?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Make sure port 1935 is open in the firewall. Here's a quicktest in a browser using the external IP address for wowza-address, type:
    http://[wowza-address]:1935
    And use external ip not localhost in the player

    server: rtmp://[wowza-address]:1935/live
    Stream: mystream

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    Make sure port 1935 is open in the firewall. Here's a quicktest in a browser using the external IP address for wowza-address, type:
    http://[wowza-address]:1935
    And use external ip not localhost in the player

    server: rtmp://[wowza-address]:1935/live
    Stream: mystream

    Richard
    Thanks for your help

    I have solved flash encoding server problem : wirecast doesnt look at uppercase so, MyStReAm would work, but flash encoder needs exact name of stream.

    firewall is off, port is open, still cant get live from internet, only works on local wowza server machine
    global ip:1935 works, as I said firewall is off on both computer for testing

    what else can be the problem?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You probably need to port-forward port 1935 to the server running Wowza

    Richard

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    You probably need to port-forward port 1935 to the server running Wowza

    Richard
    forward from what?

    this computer has the direct IP xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx without any router firewall
    and plays locally this live stream, but not from outside interface (not from internet, not from lan 192.168.0.1)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    If your server is on 192.168... address, then there is a router involved. You need to port forward TCP port 1935 to the server running Wowza. Then use external IP address from outside.

    This is a helpful resource:
    http://portforward.com/

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. Live failover configuration
    By sathishkumarkps in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2014, 12:57 AM
  2. Need some help with live stream configuration
    By RehanZ in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-15-2013, 09:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •