Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: QuickSync transcoding ptoblem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default QuickSync transcoding ptoblem

    I have Intel i7 Sandy Bridge CPU (2600, running @3.4GHz), CUDA accelerated dicrete graphic card (Nvidia GT 430) on my Asus P8Z68 deluxe motherboard and Wowza Media Server 3.1.1 installed on my system. I installed Virtu from LucidLogix and manually set GPU proccessing to intel CPU. When I set the transcoder option in files "transcode.xml" and "transrate.xml" to "QuickSync", it seems that hardware transcoder wakes up. My "wowzamediaserver_access.log" shows me this:
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	TranscoderSessionNative.loadLibrary: Load transcoder list: C:/Program Files (x86)/Wowza Media Systems/Wowza Media Server 3.1.1/lib-native/win64/transcoder.list	-	-	-	105.602	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	LiveStreamTranscoder.init[live/_definst_/mpegts.stream]: Load transcoder template: file:///C:/Program Files (x86)/Wowza Media Systems/Wowza Media Server 3.1.1/transcoder/templates/transrate_5x_720p.xml	-	-	-	105.621	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:TranscoderSession.isCUDAAvailable[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream]: NVidia CUDA hardware acceleration is available	-	-	-	105.749	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:NVidiaCUDAUtils.logCUDAGPUInfo[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream]: GPU[0]: name:"GeForce GT 430" version:2.1 driver:4000 memory:961MB processors:2 cores:96 clockRate:1460MHz	-	-	-	105.75	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:TranscoderSession.isQuickSyncAvailable[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream]: Intel Quick Sync hardware acceleration is available, version:1.1	-	-	-	105.75	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    
    
    ....
    
    
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:TranscoderSession.videoDecoderCreate[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream]: Create video decoder: MP4: default	-	-	-	105.78	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	decoder-video-start	transcoder	INFO	200	mpegts.stream	{codec:MPEG4, profile:0, level:1, frameSize:1920x1080, displaySize:1920x1080, frameRate:24.0}	-	-	-	105.788	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    ..and later I like to publish 6 simultaneous RTP stream (transcoded from 1080p-source to six 720p-outputs):
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:TranscoderSession.videoEncoderAdd[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream:720p1]: Create video encoder: H.264: QuickSync	-	-	-	105.803	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:VideoEncoderH264IntelQuickSync2.initialize[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream:720p1]: Create video encoder: Hardware	-	-	-	106.142	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:TranscoderSession.videoEncoderAdd[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream:720p2]: Create video encoder: H.264: QuickSync	-	-	-	106.148	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:VideoEncoderH264IntelQuickSync2.initialize[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream:720p2]: Create video encoder: Hardware	-	-	-	106.238	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:TranscoderSession.videoEncoderAdd[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream:720p5]: Create video encoder: H.264: QuickSync	-	-	-	106.245	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:VideoEncoderH264IntelQuickSync2.initialize[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream:720p5]: Create video encoder: Hardware	-	-	-	106.334	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:TranscoderSession.videoEncoderAdd[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream:720p6]: Create video encoder: H.264: QuickSync	-	-	-	106.342	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:VideoEncoderH264IntelQuickSync2.initialize[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream:720p6]: Create video encoder: Hardware	-	-	-	106.436	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:TranscoderSession.videoEncoderAdd[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream:720p3]: Create video encoder: H.264: QuickSync	-	-	-	106.442	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:VideoEncoderH264IntelQuickSync2.initialize[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream:720p3]: Create video encoder: Hardware	-	-	-	106.529	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    2012-05-15	13:09:02	CEST	comment	server	INFO	200	-	JNI:TranscoderSession.videoEncoderAdd[_defaultVHost_:live/_definst_/mpegts.stream:720p4]: Create video encoder: H.264: QuickSync	-	-	-	106.536	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
    But just a few seconds later, my OS crashes generating .dmp file and produces blue screen, saying some error has occur on "virtuWDDM.sys". I have examine dump file with Windows debug tools and search regarding this issue on forums, but can't get to fix the problem. Did anyone experience similar problem and can tell where do I need to dig for answer to this question?
    I really appreciate any help!
    Regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    We have similar hardware setup and have not seen this problem. We will try to retest early next week and get back to you.

    Check to be sure all drivers and virtu are up to date, and if on Windows check that all pre-requisites are installed.

    Richard
    Last edited by rrlanham; 05-15-2012 at 06:59 AM.

  3. #3

    Default

    I set this up today and I am not having any problems. I did need to roll back my version of Virtu from 1.2.114 to 1.2.113 due to a problem described in this forum post on another site:

    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s....php?p=7195569

    I have the following setup:

    Processor: Core i7 2600K
    Intel Graphics driver: 8.15.10.2696
    NVidia GeForce GTX 560 driver: 8.17.13.142
    Virtu: 1.2.113
    Windows 7 64-bit: all windows updates applied.

    I might try switching to version 1.2.113 of Virtu software. Also be sure all graphics drivers and Windows updates are applied.

    Charlie

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Richard and Charlie,

    first thank you for your reply and support. I don't doubt that the problem lies in my system installation, I just want to find out what (and why) is causing the problem.
    I have install additional Win 7 OS on my system (now I have dual boot: "Win 7 x64 professional" and "Win 7 x64 ultimate"), but the problem still exists in the other OS. Below I am attaching Windows crash dump file.
    I did not point this thing out in my previous post, but I am using this motherboard: Asus P8Z68 DELUXE, which although supports QS function, it does not have "integrated" video output (compared to P8Z68 PRO). I suspect that something is going on on HW level, perhaps some IRQ conflict or so, which consequently completely stops my system; in some situations (other QS software) my system just freezes and do nothing when "QS is waked up". Another thing: I am running my OS in RAID 1 (2x2 logical disks, 4 physical HDDs in total).
    Regarding updated SW: I tried with newest drivers for my SW- OS and HW- discrete graphic card, Intel HD video card, RAID driver, etc. (except BIOS update was not performed) and there were no improvements whatsoever.
    I will be very glad if someone will at least suggests something, because I am running out of the ideas how to manage QS transcoding on my system
    Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.2.8229.0 AMD64
    Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    Loading Dump File [C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\052312-61745-01.dmp]
    Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

    Symbol search path is: *** Invalid ***
    ****************************************************************************
    * Symbol loading may be unreliable without a symbol search path. *
    * Use .symfix to have the debugger choose a symbol path. *
    * After setting your symbol path, use .reload to refresh symbol locations. *
    ****************************************************************************
    Executable search path is:
    *********************************************************************
    * Symbols can not be loaded because symbol path is not initialized. *
    * *
    * The Symbol Path can be set by: *
    * using the _NT_SYMBOL_PATH environment variable. *
    * using the -y <symbol_path> argument when starting the debugger. *
    * using .sympath and .sympath+ *
    *********************************************************************
    Unable to load image \SystemRoot\system32\ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
    Windows 7 Kernel Version 7601 (Service Pack 1) MP (8 procs) Free x64
    Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
    Built by: 7601.17803.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120330-1504
    Machine Name:
    Kernel base = 0xfffff800`0f24f000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`0f493670
    Debug session time: Wed May 23 16:38:29.328 2012 (UTC + 2:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:43:51.044
    *********************************************************************
    * Symbols can not be loaded because symbol path is not initialized. *
    * *
    * The Symbol Path can be set by: *
    * using the _NT_SYMBOL_PATH environment variable. *
    * using the -y <symbol_path> argument when starting the debugger. *
    * using .sympath and .sympath+ *
    *********************************************************************
    Unable to load image \SystemRoot\system32\ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
    Loading Kernel Symbols
    ...............................................................
    ................................................................
    ..........................
    Loading User Symbols
    Loading unloaded module list
    ...
    TRIAGER: Could not open triage file : C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.0\Debuggers\x64\triage\oca.ini, error 2
    TRIAGER: Could not open triage file : C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.0\Debuggers\x64\winxp\triage.ini, error 2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for dxgkrnl.sys
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for dxgkrnl.sys
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

    BugCheck 116, {fffffa800d88b4e0, fffff88004318d00, 0, 2}

    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for mssmbios.sys
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for mssmbios.sys
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for VirtuWDDM.sys
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for VirtuWDDM.sys
    ***** Kernel symbols are WRONG. Please fix symbols to do analysis.

    *************************************************************************
    *** ***
    *** ***
    *** Either you specified an unqualified symbol, or your debugger ***
    *** doesn't have full symbol information. Unqualified symbol ***
    *** resolution is turned off by default. Please either specify a ***
    *** fully qualified symbol module!symbolname, or enable resolution ***
    *** of unqualified symbols by typing ".symopt- 100". Note that ***
    *** enabling unqualified symbol resolution with network symbol ***
    *** server shares in the symbol path may cause the debugger to ***
    *** appear to hang for long periods of time when an incorrect ***
    *** symbol name is typed or the network symbol server is down. ***
    *** ***
    *** For some commands to work properly, your symbol path ***
    *** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
    *** ***
    *** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
    *** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
    *** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
    *** work. ***
    *** ***
    *** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
    *** ***
    *************************************************************************
    TRIAGER: Could not open triage file : C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.0\Debuggers\x64\triage\modclass.ini, error 2
    *************************************************************************
    *** ***
    *** ***
    *** Either you specified an unqualified symbol, or your debugger ***
    *** doesn't have full symbol information. Unqualified symbol ***
    *** resolution is turned off by default. Please either specify a ***
    *** fully qualified symbol module!symbolname, or enable resolution ***
    *** of unqualified symbols by typing ".symopt- 100". Note that ***
    *** enabling unqualified symbol resolution with network symbol ***
    *** server shares in the symbol path may cause the debugger to ***
    *** appear to hang for long periods of time when an incorrect ***
    *** symbol name is typed or the network symbol server is down. ***
    *** ***
    *** For some commands to work properly, your symbol path ***
    *** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
    *** ***
    *** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
    *** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
    *** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
    *** work. ***
    *** ***
    *** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
    *** ***
    *************************************************************************
    *************************************************************************
    *** ***
    *** ***
    *** Either you specified an unqualified symbol, or your debugger ***
    *** doesn't have full symbol information. Unqualified symbol ***
    *** resolution is turned off by default. Please either specify a ***
    *** fully qualified symbol module!symbolname, or enable resolution ***
    *** of unqualified symbols by typing ".symopt- 100". Note that ***
    *** enabling unqualified symbol resolution with network symbol ***
    *** server shares in the symbol path may cause the debugger to ***
    *** appear to hang for long periods of time when an incorrect ***
    *** symbol name is typed or the network symbol server is down. ***
    *** ***
    *** For some commands to work properly, your symbol path ***
    *** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
    *** ***
    *** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
    *** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
    *** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
    *** work. ***
    *** ***
    *** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
    *** ***
    *************************************************************************
    Probably caused by : VirtuWDDM.sys ( VirtuWDDM+8d00 )

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------

    6: kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    VIDEO_TDR_FAILURE (116)
    Attempt to reset the display driver and recover from timeout failed.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: fffffa800d88b4e0, Optional pointer to internal TDR recovery context (TDR_RECOVERY_CONTEXT).
    Arg2: fffff88004318d00, The pointer into responsible device driver module (e.g. owner tag).
    Arg3: 0000000000000000, Optional error code (NTSTATUS) of the last failed operation.
    Arg4: 0000000000000002, Optional internal context dependent data.

    Debugging Details:
    ------------------

    ***** Kernel symbols are WRONG. Please fix symbols to do analysis.

    *************************************************************************
    *** ***
    *** ***
    *** Either you specified an unqualified symbol, or your debugger ***
    *** doesn't have full symbol information. Unqualified symbol ***
    *** resolution is turned off by default. Please either specify a ***
    *** fully qualified symbol module!symbolname, or enable resolution ***
    *** of unqualified symbols by typing ".symopt- 100". Note that ***
    *** enabling unqualified symbol resolution with network symbol ***
    *** server shares in the symbol path may cause the debugger to ***
    *** appear to hang for long periods of time when an incorrect ***
    *** symbol name is typed or the network symbol server is down. ***
    *** ***
    *** For some commands to work properly, your symbol path ***
    *** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
    *** ***
    *** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
    *** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
    *** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
    *** work. ***
    *** ***
    *** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
    *** ***
    *************************************************************************
    TRIAGER: Could not open triage file : C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.0\Debuggers\x64\triage\modclass.ini, error 2
    *************************************************************************
    *** ***
    *** ***
    *** Either you specified an unqualified symbol, or your debugger ***
    *** doesn't have full symbol information. Unqualified symbol ***
    *** resolution is turned off by default. Please either specify a ***
    *** fully qualified symbol module!symbolname, or enable resolution ***
    *** of unqualified symbols by typing ".symopt- 100". Note that ***
    *** enabling unqualified symbol resolution with network symbol ***
    *** server shares in the symbol path may cause the debugger to ***
    *** appear to hang for long periods of time when an incorrect ***
    *** symbol name is typed or the network symbol server is down. ***
    *** ***
    *** For some commands to work properly, your symbol path ***
    *** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
    *** ***
    *** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
    *** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
    *** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
    *** work. ***
    *** ***
    *** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
    *** ***
    *************************************************************************
    *************************************************************************
    *** ***
    *** ***
    *** Either you specified an unqualified symbol, or your debugger ***
    *** doesn't have full symbol information. Unqualified symbol ***
    *** resolution is turned off by default. Please either specify a ***
    *** fully qualified symbol module!symbolname, or enable resolution ***
    *** of unqualified symbols by typing ".symopt- 100". Note that ***
    *** enabling unqualified symbol resolution with network symbol ***
    *** server shares in the symbol path may cause the debugger to ***
    *** appear to hang for long periods of time when an incorrect ***
    *** symbol name is typed or the network symbol server is down. ***
    *** ***
    *** For some commands to work properly, your symbol path ***
    *** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
    *** ***
    *** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
    *** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
    *** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
    *** work. ***
    *** ***
    *** Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB ***
    *** ***
    *************************************************************************

    ADDITIONAL_DEBUG_TEXT:
    Use '!findthebuild' command to search for the target build information.
    If the build information is available, run '!findthebuild -s ; .reload' to set symbol path and load symbols.

    FAULTING_MODULE: fffff8000f24f000 nt

    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 4df0af4a

    FAULTING_IP:
    VirtuWDDM+8d00
    fffff880`04318d00 4c8bc2 mov r8,rdx

    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: GRAPHICS_DRIVER_TDR_FAULT

    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

    BUGCHECK_STR: 0x116

    CURRENT_IRQL: 0

    STACK_TEXT:
    fffff880`09bdc238 fffff880`044bb000 : 00000000`00000116 fffffa80`0d88b4e0 fffff880`04318d00 00000000`00000000 : nt+0x7f1c0
    fffff880`09bdc240 00000000`00000116 : fffffa80`0d88b4e0 fffff880`04318d00 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000002 : dxgkrnl+0x5d000
    fffff880`09bdc248 fffffa80`0d88b4e0 : fffff880`04318d00 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000000 : 0x116
    fffff880`09bdc250 fffff880`04318d00 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0xfffffa80`0d88b4e0
    fffff880`09bdc258 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 fffff880`044bad0a : VirtuWDDM+0x8d00


    STACK_COMMAND: kb

    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    VirtuWDDM+8d00
    fffff880`04318d00 4c8bc2 mov r8,rdx

    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 4

    SYMBOL_NAME: VirtuWDDM+8d00

    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

    MODULE_NAME: VirtuWDDM

    IMAGE_NAME: VirtuWDDM.sys

    BUCKET_ID: WRONG_SYMBOLS

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------

  5. #5

    Default

    I really don't have any suggestions. It looks like the crash is in the VirtuWDDM driver. Have you contacted them? Maybe there are known compatibility issues.

    There is another report here of a Virtu crash with a similar motherboard. Maybe this will help:

    http://forums.overclockersclub.com/i...owtopic=190783

    Charlie

Similar Threads

  1. GPU Utilization (QuickSync)
    By cdpearce in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-14-2016, 08:33 AM
  2. quicksync transcoding throws error: Mfx_err_device_failed
    By joyrex in forum Wowza Transcoder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-24-2014, 06:52 AM
  3. Problem with Transcoder and QuickSync
    By edumetz16 in forum Wowza Transcoder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-2014, 10:02 PM
  4. QuickSync + CentOS
    By bosborne in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2013, 03:16 PM
  5. KVM Switch + QuickSync ?
    By cdpearce in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-24-2012, 07:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •