Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Flowplayer and sub directories

  1. #1

    Default Flowplayer and sub directories

    Ok, done banging my head against the wall. I have files in a sub dir...content\subdir.
    Using the simple flash player I put http://myserver/vod/mp4:subdir/filen...4/manifest.f4m it works, but not in flowplayer.
    How do I get flowplayer to work with subdir's?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Add application instance "_definst_"

    http://myserver/vod/_definst_/mp4:subdir/filename.mp4/manifest.f4m
    Richard

  3. #3

    Default

    Yep, tried that as well. My code:

    <script type="text/javascript">
                    flowplayer("player", "http://myserver/dev/scripts/flowplayer-3.2.10.swf",
    
                    {
    
                        clip: {
    
                            url: 'mp4:subdir/file.mp4/manifest.f4m',
    
     			scaling: 'fit',
    
                            provider: 'rtmp'
    
                        },
    
                        plugins: {
    
                            rtmp: {
    
                                url: 'flowplayer.rtmp-3.2.9.swf',
    
                                netConnectionUrl: 'rtmp://serverip/vod/_definst_'
    
                            },
    
                            controls: {
    
                                url: 'http://rabblesoft.com/dev/scripts/flowplayer.controls-3.2.10.swf',
    
                                // which buttons are visible and which not ?  
                                play: true,
    
    			    stop: true,
    
                                fullscreen: true,
    
                                // scrubber is a well known nickname to the timeline/playhead combination  
                                scrubber: false
    
                            }
                        }
    
                    }
    
                    );
                </script>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Flowplayer RTMP does not use manifest.f4m. And you don't need _definst_ where the rtmp connection is separate from stream name, although it doesn't hurt

    Change the clip to:
    url: 'mp4:subdir/file.mp4'
    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

  6. #6

    Default

    Nope, nothing.

  7. #7

    Default

    I figured it out, just not sure why. My file name had space and an " ' " in the name. Changed it so there was nothing but letters and it started working. How do I pass spaces and such to flowplayer?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,919

    Default

    Hi
    Have you tried "%20" because that's the replacement of a [space] in url form,
    I didn't find a conversion for " ' " and assume that its the same.

    Try that and see how you get on first without the " ' " then with to see if it is the same in url form.
    Let us know if this works for you.

    Jason

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    The apostrophe should be okay. Here's a urlencode tool:

    http://meyerweb.com/eric/tools/dencoder/

    Richard

  10. #10

    Default

    Nope, the apostrophe was the problem. As soon as I removed it, the video started playing. There are other characters as well that do not play nice with flowplayer such as the &. These are the nuances that we have to figure out and account for.

Similar Threads

  1. VOD using sub-directories
    By rickhall in forum Video On Demand Streaming Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 12:34 PM
  2. Application - Sub directories
    By donch__ in forum General Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-23-2011, 08:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •