Thread: App config per live audio stream publisher a good or bad idea?

Question App config per live audio stream publisher a good or bad idea?

Hi,

I've worked a little with Wowza, but still have a lot to learn. Planning to read through a bunch of docs today, but a quick response to this question could help guide me. I'm working on a Wowza config for a website that's going to serve lots of podcast style audio feeds. In time ideally there will be a lot of registered audio publishers (maybe 1000+). I'm a consultant and not sure of all the project details, but I'm assuming usually most registered audio publishing users will be idle (no stream available).

What I'm not clear on is best practice in this type of scenario related to what the application config/partitioning should look like. I'm wondering if it would be good or bad to have a unique application (although basically just duplicated or inherited from a template) per registered audio publisher. I could imagine this being a bad move if each app uses significant resources beyond what would be needed for an additional stream in a global audio publishing app, especially if more than a tiny bit of those resources are required when the app is idle/not in use.

A big area for me to get clear on is the authentication features for publishing RTMP audio streams. I found tutorials/howtos on this site for RTMP URL authentication that use a password file in the apps folder. A reason I wonder about it being maybe good to have one app per user is that the authentication for this project should not be at the global level, but rather a certain username/password would have rights to only publish to certain streams. I'm thinking I will likely need to come up with a custom java module to extend authentication support, so I could imagine after doing that maybe having a setup work great with a global app that all the audio publishers use.

Any input is appreciated,

Thanks.