Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Need help with HLS on Roku 2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default Need help with HLS on Roku 2

    Hello everyone,

    Im currently running Wowza version 2.2.4 on a Linux based Virtual Private Server. I have an rtmp stream playing from my server that runs well. I've been looking into the technology it takes to have my psuedo-live stream played on the roku platform. A few questions can help point me in the right direction.

    1. Roku accepts iOS format HTTP Live Streaming. Can i use the playback URL from this tutorial or do I NEED to encode the playback URL to use on Roku?
    2. If an encoder is necessary, which encoder can i use? I currently have ffmpeg installed, but i see as i was going through the wowza documentation that ffmpeg has not worked for HLS in the past. Also, i tried to get flash media live encoder but i cant seem to find out how to install it. Since i have a virtual server (hosted on the internet) i would have to use command line prompt to retrieve the necessary installation files. I heard that FMLE is not compatible with Linux based servers.

    Thanks for your help.

    ~Baba

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You have a RTMP live encoder publishing a stream? That is all you need. Be sure the video is h.264 and the audio is aac (I don't think mp3 is support in roku for streaming). Follow the cupertino configuration and playback steps in this tutorial:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....based-encoder)

    I think Roku has a minimum bitrate requirement of 800kbs.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Im not sure if i am using an RTMP encoder, but i dont think so. I set up a pseudo-live stream using this tutorial from wowza.
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content.php?145

    Does this mean i need to encode the RTMP URL coming from wowza before i can publish to roku? does FFMPEG do this?
    Last edited by babadjedi; 06-02-2012 at 11:11 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You don't need an encoder in that case but you can still follow the conf and playback steps in that guide for cupertino

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default

    ok, i see. Then I should use the cupertino playback URL in the tutorial here, correct?
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....h-Wowza-Server

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I set up the roku channel the way its described iin the tutorial. http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....h-Wowza-Server
    The Big Buck Bunny file works just fine, But my live channel is not showing. I only get continous loading from the channel. After searching the roku forums, many people say the problem is probably related to the audio. The audio has to be AAC format. strange thing is all of the videos in my SMIL file are do have AAC audio so i dont know why its not playing. Does the play back URL http://50.22.70.52:1936/live/Stream1.playlist.m3u8 have AAC audio or is there some other problem i should be looking at?

  7. #7

    Default

    You are running fairly old software. I suggest moving to most recent version 3.1.1. Instructions are here:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....-Upgrade-Guide

    Charlie

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thank you. at this point i'd like to see if i can work it out with what i currently have. if all else fails i'll definitely consider upgrading. is there documented any other cases with similar issues on roku? It would seem that theoretically the stream would work perfectly since it comes directly from a wowza server and rrlanham indicated i wouldnt need an encoder for what im trying to do...

  9. #9

    Default

    I see two problems:

    1. You are using the incorrect URL. You have this:

      http://50.22.70.52:1936/live/Stream1.playlist.m3u8
      It should be this:

      http://50.22.70.52:1936/live/Stream1/playlist.m3u8
    2. The lower bandwidth limit is 800Kbps and your stream is 300Kbps. So you need a higher bitrate stream:

      #EXTM3U
      #EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=330
      http://50.22.70.52:1936/live/Stream1/playlist.m3u8?wowzasessionid=255008439
    3. I could not get your stream to play on my iPhone. I might start there. Get the stream to play on an iOS device or OSX first. Then go for the roku


    Charlie

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thats odd that the stream doesnt work for your iPhone since its been working for flash. I guess i just assumed that the URL would work because I dont have any devices with iOS on them. Is there somewhere online i can test this out? Also, where can i change the bitrate of the stream noted above?

    Thanks
    ~Baba

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Scale Load balancing HLS. VOD Edge setup - ROKU
    By malimar in forum Wowza Streaming Engine functionality
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2014, 10:06 PM
  2. Roku HLS loading time
    By rush0143 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-06-2013, 05:35 AM
  3. HLS not working with Roku
    By dirtystar in forum General Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-28-2012, 05:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •