Thread: Assigning RTP Stream Ids based on external call or parameter name

Default Assigning RTP Stream Ids based on external call or parameter name

Hello,

I'm new to Wowza and actually working with streaming video for that matter.

I'm trying to accomplish a setup where I am publishing RTP streams from multiple different client devices, they can vary from ip cameras, laptop camera mobile etc.
    I need to be able uniquely assign an identifier for each new stream that is published from these devices and these ids need to be based on external business logic.

Can I do either of the following?

1. Can I assign a predetermined stream name at publish time through some parameter information?
    2. Can I make an external REST call to obtain an ID for the stream?

Preferably the first would be better if possible.

Thanks

You can't assign a publish name in Wowza, it has to be set in the encoder. You can use an predetermined alias in Wowza that maps to a published stream. There are a couple of ways to do that, but for your purpose take a look at the Stream Alias API:

http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....der2-interface

You can make an HTTP call from this interface to return the real stream name for an alias. HTTP calls in a Wowza application can cause problems, but if they used sparingly as this is just once per session it should be okay.

Richard

Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    You can't assign a publish name in Wowza, it has to be set in the encoder. You can use an predetermined alias in Wowza that maps to a published stream. There are a couple of ways to do that, but for your purpose take a look at the Stream Alias API:

http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....der2-interface

You can make an HTTP call from this interface to return the real stream name for an alias. HTTP calls in a Wowza application can cause problems, but if they used sparingly as this is just once per session it should be okay.

Richard