Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Console.log output

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Console.log output

    Can anyone tell me exactly what this means?

    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/test1]: Add chunk: id:3 mode:TS a/v/k:177/309/7 duration:12345

    Mainly I am trying to determine the a/v/k

    Audio, Video, Keyframe?

    I just want to see if I am sending the proper keyframes to the segmenter, because I think I have my numbers all messed up. My current setup is:

    fps 59.94 key frame 60 frames = .99 seconds key / 15 seconds duration = 15.15 key frames per chunk

    I was reading that I should be sending key frames, factoring the chunk duration, so if I have 15 seconds chunks, it should be 1, 3, 5, or look like something below?

    fps 60 key frame 60 = 1 second key / 15 second duration = 15 key frames per chunk
    fps 50 key frame 50 = 1 second key / 15 second duration = 15 key frames per chunk
    fps 30 key frame 30 = 1 second key / 15 second duration = 15 key frames per chunk
    fps 25 key frame 25 = 1 second key / 15 second duration = 15 key frames per chunk

    Or am I barking up the wrong tree?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,933

    Default

    Hi
    I think you have your wires crossed here "a/v/k" has nothing to do with chunk sizes or chunk duration it's "Audio Video Keyframes".
    If you have 60 fps and 1 keyframe every 60 frames you will have 1 keyframe per second.

    You've had 7 keyframes in 12 seconds which tells me you are not getting 1 keyframe per second at the moment.
    This is probably an encoder issue, which encoder are you using?

    Jason

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    If you have a 1 second key frame frequency (fps / gop) you should set cupertinoChunkDurationTarget to a factor of 1000 milliseconds. The default is 10000, or k=10. If you set cupertinoChunkDurationTarget to 1000 you should see k=1.

    Try 2 second key frame frequency and cupertinoChunkDurationTarget 2000 or 4000

    Also, try to avoid fractional fps settings, it might cause or contribute to audio drift issues. Try 24 or 30 fps

    Richard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    With 2 second key frame frequency and chunkDurationTarget set to "2000" (and fps 15):

    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:1 mode:TS a/v/k:51/75/1 duration:3997
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:2 mode:TS a/v/k:32/75/1 duration:2500
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:3 mode:TS a/v/k:32/75/1 duration:2500
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:4 mode:TS a/v/k:31/75/1 duration:2500
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:5 mode:TS a/v/k:32/75/1 duration:2500
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:6 mode:TS a/v/k:32/75/1 duration:2501
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:7 mode:TS a/v/k:32/75/1 duration:2500
    with fps 24:
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:2 mode:TS a/v/k:51/120/1 duration:4000
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:3 mode:TS a/v/k:51/120/1 duration:4000
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:4 mode:TS a/v/k:51/120/1 duration:4001
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:5 mode:TS a/v/k:51/120/1 duration:4001
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:6 mode:TS a/v/k:51/120/1 duration:4000
    INFO server comment - LiveStreamPacketizerCupertino.endChunkTS[live/_definst_/livestream]: Add chunk: id:7 mode:TS a/v/k:51/120/1 duration:4001
    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonH View Post
    Hi
    I think you have your wires crossed here "a/v/k" has nothing to do with chunk sizes or chunk duration it's "Audio Video Keyframes".
    If you have 60 fps and 1 keyframe every 60 frames you will have 1 keyframe per second.

    You've had 7 keyframes in 12 seconds which tells me you are not getting 1 keyframe per second at the moment.
    This is probably an encoder issue, which encoder are you using?

    Jason
    Ok, So maybe I express my self wrong. The a/v/k is the audio video keyframe? Right? If so, then why would it vary? Shouldn't it stay the same if I set it right in FME? I see the output from my ffmpeg/vlc setup that the K value varies up to 30 and back down to 15, even my FME setup will vary up and down a bit, but not as much.

    Basically what I am asking is, would this be the best place, other than the encoder, to verify how the HLS module is chunking the input stream from my encoders?

    Here is the main question, I changed the settings in my ffmpeg/vlc encoder to match as close as possible and I was able to get it down to K=2 BUT, I still cant keep a connection to the stream from the same server. The settings are identical to the FME stream, which works flawlessly, but my ffmpeg/vlc setup keeps crashing, which looks like its happening between chunks.

    What other way can I isolate what I am doing wrong??

    FYI, ffmpeg/vlc means I tried both vlc and ffmpeg solutions.

    S

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I'm a little confused still. Heck, I'm a lot confused. My FME with 5 seconds key, and chunks at 15000 duration work fine. I see this.

    When I try Flash Media Encoder, I get this:
    Add chunk: id:1 mode:TS a/v/k:23/37/1 duration:1625
    Add chunk: id:2 mode:TS a/v/k:218/380/13 duration:15182
    Add chunk: id:3 mode:TS a/v/k:233/405/8 duration:16216
    Add chunk: id:4 mode:TS a/v/k:250/436/4 duration:17449
    Add chunk: id:5 mode:TS a/v/k:216/375/3 duration:14981
    Add chunk: id:6 mode:TS a/v/k:215/375/3 duration:15015
    Add chunk: id:7 mode:TS a/v/k:177/309/3 duration:12345
    Add chunk: id:8 mode:TS a/v/k:216/375/3 duration:15015
    Add chunk: id:9 mode:TS a/v/k:215/375/3 duration:14982

    When I try from VLC or FFmpeg, I get this:
    Add chunk: id:1 mode:TS a/v/k:59/150/2 duration:3780
    Add chunk: id:2 mode:TS a/v/k:240/922/13 duration:15382
    Add chunk: id:3 mode:TS a/v/k:238/914/13 duration:15248
    Add chunk: id:4 mode:TS a/v/k:229/877/12 duration:14632
    Add chunk: id:5 mode:TS a/v/k:243/931/13 duration:15532
    Add chunk: id:6 mode:TS a/v/k:225/865/12 duration:14431
    Add chunk: id:7 mode:TS a/v/k:241/925/13 duration:15432

    Is the above vlc ffmpeg example wrong?

    Would the difference in the key frames vs. chunks vs. duration, be causing the HLS streams to stop working at the client?

    Also, if a clear explanation of what the numbers for a/v/k mean.... audio, what? video what? keyframes, per chunk?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Which vlc or ffmpeg example?

    a/v/k = audio frames/video frames/key frames

    What encoder are you using, what are the encoding details? Are you using h.264 Baseline 3 video? If the audio is MP3 make sample rate 44100Hz and bitrate 128kbs, stereo

    Richard

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Well, looks like the keyframes issue has been solved. My streams seem to have stabilized. I think I'm ok for now.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Great, glad it's working. Thanks for the update

    Richard

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default

    You guys should really start up a irc chat on freenode. It would be helpful for everyone that uses wowza on any platform. There, everyone could give their input in real time and not wait 24 hours every time for a response. You could also log the chats and make that available to the users to search through as a sudo type of knowledge base. Hell I would offer to help out if you dont have the man power.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Java console
    By hlabor in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-26-2014, 12:12 AM
  2. Wowza Console
    By noodle48 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-16-2012, 06:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •