Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wowza server through Proxy

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    13

    Default Wowza server through Proxy

    I have Wowza running on RHEL6 and I need my traffic to go through a proxy server. On startup I get errors saying it can't communicate out port 80. RHEL iptables has port 80 tcp/udp open but still errors out. I also followed the info below link to setup the server to go through a proxy:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....license-server

    But I still get errors, below is the information from my Server.xml file, did I miss type or place something in the wrong spot. Please help!

    <!-- Properties defined here will be added to the IServer.getProperties() collection -->
    <Property>
    <Name>LicenseServerProxyAddress</Name>
    <Value>ProxyIPADDRESS</Value>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>LicenseServerProxyPort></Name>
    <Value>80</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    This property enables authentication with Wowza subscription server through a proxy, nothing to do with streaming though.

    You can't proxy rtmp streams. I think http streams can be proxied, but you would set that up outside Wowza.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Okay... then how to I route my traffic to my proxy?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    For RTMP, it won't work. For HTTP, it should just work, there is nothing to do in Wowza, you have to configure that in your network, which I don't have experience doing

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Okay, I just installed Wowza, first time. I added new license key and I'm trying to start the app when I get my error:
    The Wowza Media Systems Software licensing system was not able to
    connect to the licensing server to validate your license. Please validate
    that your machine is able to send HTTP data over TCP port 80 to the Internet.
    If this problem persists, please visit
    http://www.wowza.com/subscriptionsupport.php for up to date information.
    ERROR server comment - The Wowza Media Systems Software licensing system was not able to connect to the licensing server to validate your li
    cense. Please validate that your machine is able to send HTTP data over TCP port 80 to the Internet. If this problem persists, please visit
    http://www.wowza.com/subscriptionsupport.php for up to date information.
    ERROR server comment - system.exit[2]

    I don't need the Properties setup mentioned above?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Yes, for authentication with the Wowza subscription servers you need this property. But that is all it is used for, license check in.

    Richard

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Okay this is starting to make sense. Our Cyber department wants use to use the proxy when the server needs to check license file, this is the problem I have. Do I need an apache tomcat or something running as well?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You don't need a web server for Wowza. Wowza only requires Java.

    Richard

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

Similar Threads

  1. Streaming with wowza using proxy server
    By pnethaga in forum Server Administration Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2013, 06:41 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2012, 03:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •