Wowza Community

CentOS Tuning Recommendations

Hi everyone,

Been using Wowza for a few years now, and finally seem to have the golden setup. So through my persperation, would like to share what I have learned off the forum, and through trial & testing in a live environment pushing multiple gigabits over the internet.

So here is my current setup & tips. I have been using FreeBSD since 1996, but in the last year have moved to CentOS due to updated drivers and hardware support.

(I love both)

Also, common sense would say to make each of these changes one at a time if you can. So if something goes wrong, you know which thing is responsible :slight_smile: (Especially when your doing the threadpool tweaks.)

1st) Had some buffering issues, when there really shouldn’t be. As posted in another thread here, the Buffer settings are weak. After I changed this, I was personally able to view > 2Mbit streams without a problem.

@ VHost.xml for your VHosts, bump it to 120k

2nd) Another tip I got off this forum – For those running multiple VHosts, you can make it share against the main Thread Pool by setting the VHosts to 0, and boosting the main one.

So under WowzaMediaServer/conf/VHost.xml (Main)

And then for each of your VHost’s in VHost.xml

So once again, a setting of 0 will cause it to piggy back off the main pool.

3rd) Upgrade your NIC drivers & Network tuning

This may not do much for you, but upgrading NIC drivers can help things. Especially if your on 10Gbit w/ ixgbe.

Also, NIC tuning recommendations from here:

http://fasterdata.es.net/host-tuning/linux/

There are also FreeBSD and other OS’ linked on the left side there.

I have updated all mine using the yum repo – elrepo – http://elrepo.org/tiki/tiki-index.php

Find your driver & confirm your hardware using their recommended steps, or you will find yourself without internet after a reboot :slight_smile:

http://elrepo.org/tiki/FAQ #4

And also confirm with their DeviceIDs page.