Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: IOS Live streaming with FME3 question

  1. #1

    Default IOS Live streaming with FME3 question

    Today I was doing some testing while we streamed some content. We did not purchase the DVR add-on, but when watching videos on my I-phone I noticed that when paused for a few minutes and hit play again it would start from the point it was paused. When I did the same thing on my pc this was not the case. Is this normal behavior for IOS devices?



    TIA
    Josh

  2. #2

    Default

    You should be able to pause when streaming VOD files. If it's not working on PC, try with the Wowza SimpleVideoStreaming client.

  3. #3

    Default

    It woks fine with VOD. These are live streams. the IOS device will pause like a DVR. I dont think this is what its suppose to do if you dont have the add-on.

    Regards,
    Josh

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Is the StreamType "default"? It should be "live".

    Otherwise, what iOS version? What Wowza version?

    Richard

  5. #5

    Default

    I am not using the default. This is a "live-record" stream type. I tried it with IOS 6 device( I-Phone 5). We are using the lates production build of wowza 3.

    Josh

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    135

    Default

    I saw similar behavior on my system when I kept it paused for only a short while, but if I kept it paused for a couple minutes, it jumped back to the live point when resuming. I wonder if it matters how big your Cupertino chunk size is, etc. I didn't look into it too closely, however.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,934

    Default

    Hi
    This is correct, if you pause the stream and then play within the cupertinoMaxChunkCount then you will be able to play from where you left off because the chunk hasn't expired yet.
    If you pause for longer than the cupertinoMaxChunkCount then the iOS device can't play the chunk paused on and snaps back to the where it would have been if the pause didn't take place.

    This isn't always a sure thing.. but testing suggests this behavior to be correct.

    Jason

Similar Threads

  1. Sample iOS project for live streaming through wowza streaming engine
    By bhagya in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-05-2014, 12:04 PM
  2. Live streaming to both Desktops & iOS Devices using Flash Live Media Encoder
    By tropeakito in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-10-2014, 07:25 PM
  3. Help, Live Streaming HQ Encoder FME3.2
    By netandino in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-17-2012, 12:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •