Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Create multiple bitrate streams from a single incoming RTMP-stream: How?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    103

    Question Create multiple bitrate streams from a single incoming RTMP-stream: How?

    I have a single encoder broadcasting a single high quality (10 Mbps) RTMP-stream.

    Now, I want Wowza to take this incoming stream and serve three Flash streams (2 Mbps, 1 Mbps and 400 Kbps) as well as three iOS streams (1,5 Mbps, 800 Kbps and 128 Kbps).

    How do I set up my Wowza server to make these six streams from the single incoming stream?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You can use the Wowza Transcoder:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....live-streaming

    There are benchmark results for reference here:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....ance-Benchmark

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    You can use the Wowza Transcoder:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....live-streaming
    Richard
    Thank you, that was what I needed.

    However I get this error:

    WARN server comment - LiveStreamTranscoder.isTranscoderAvailable: Transcoder is not available for your platform: platform:win architecture:32
    I'm running Wowza on Windows 7 x64 through Parallels (OSX 10.7)

    Edit: I found what I believe could be the answer in a reply to another thread:

    You also have to have a 64bit version of Java JDK, and your JAVA_HOME system variable has to point to it.
    Last edited by niemion; 11-02-2012 at 11:48 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Right, per your edit, you also need 64bit Java and JAVA_HOME must point to it

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    103

    Default

    When trying to install the jdk-7u9-windows-x64.exe I get the strangest of errors:

    ... is not a valid 32 bit application.

    I'm running Windows 7 x64 so why do I get this eror? Is it because I'm running Windows through Parallels (OSX 10.7)?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    I don't know, I don't have experience with that. Try installing on the Mac OS.

    Richard

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    I don't know, I don't have experience with that. Try installing on the Mac OS.

    Richard
    Even if Wowza Transcoder Hardware and Driver Requirements states:

    Note: 32-bit operating systems are not supported and OSX is not supported.

    Edit: The requirements are correct unfortunately, I get this under OSX 10.7:

    WARN server comment - LiveStreamTranscoder.isTranscoderAvailable: Transcoder is not available for your platform: platform:osx architecture:64
    Last edited by niemion; 11-02-2012 at 03:02 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Combining multiple live audio streams into one single Stream instance?
    By videodoctor in forum Server-side Modules and Code Samples Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-26-2013, 11:34 AM
  2. FMLE rtmp settings for multiple streams to single AWS Wowza instance
    By krissy in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-26-2012, 10:12 AM
  3. Multiple incoming streams on demand
    By enricod75 in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 05:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •