Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Timecode out of order [video]

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Timecode out of order [video]

    Hi,
    I'm running Wowza 3.5 with the transcoder module.

    Our logs are generating the following error on a regular basis(and subsequently, losing the stream). The Wowza server's CPU utilization stays high(when it's not receiving a stream, it's obviously nil). Yet we can't view the video stream.

    WARN server comment 2012-11-21 11:41:43 - - - - - 1014.133 -- - - - - - - LiveStreamPacketizerSmoothStreaming.handlePacket[live/_definst_/myStream_720p]: Timecode out of order [video]: 122020000:122090000

    We're currently using FMLE and have adjusted the H.264 time interval to get rid of another error.

    Any idea what is causing this? Thanks.

    Update:

    No additional errors in my log but suddenly the stream has stopped. Only information is this:

    WARN server comment 2012-11-21 11:55:18 - - - - - 1777.407 -- - - - - - - HTTPStreamerAdapterSanJoseStreamer.getAppInstance: Stream not found [live/ngrp:myStream_all/playlist_b5096000.abst]: myStream_all

    Second update:

    Stream is now frozen(while watching it) and receiving this new error:

    WARN server comment 2012-11-21 11:57:28 - - - - - 1959.04 - -- - - - - - LiveStreamPacketizerSmoothStreaming.handlePacket[live/_definst_/myStream_360p]: Timecode out of order [video]: 745100000:745110000
    Last edited by jefe78; 11-21-2012 at 10:00 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    This is an encoder problem. There are many forum posts about this:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/google.p...t%20of%20order

    Richard

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    This is an encoder problem. There are many forum posts about this:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/google.p...t%20of%20order

    Richard
    nothing comes up when I click the above link. I actually found this thread by searching for the same thing and so far I haven't found how to address this on the encoder.

    We have similar errors in our log - Wirecast encoding at 30fps and appears to be stable at that rate, keyframes set to 60 and timecode unchecked, going into transcoder for 3 lower bitrates. We see playback up and downshifting on Flash and iOS very frequently. Quality Monitor in JWplayer tells me there are occasionally dropped frames on the client end (100mbps client, server on 10gbps), but the encoder is running at low CPU utilization with a pretty generic profile.

    this is what we are running for this stream:

    <smil>
      <head /> 
    	<body>
    		<switch>
    			<video src="mp4:myStream_source" system-bitrate="1941504" width="1280" height="720">
    			<param name="audioBitrate" value="98304" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="videoBitrate" value="1843200" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="videoCodecId" value="avc1.77.31" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="audioCodecId" value="mp4a.40.2" valuetype="data" /> 
    			</video>
    			<video src="mp4:myStream_360p" system-bitrate="948304" width="640" height="360">
    			<param name="audioBitrate" value="98304" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="videoBitrate" value="850000" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="videoCodecId" value="avc1.77.31" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="audioCodecId" value="mp4a.40.2" valuetype="data" /> 
    			</video>
    			<video src="mp4:myStream_240p" system-bitrate="448304" width="426" height="240">
    			<param name="audioBitrate" value="98304" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="videoBitrate" value="350000" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="videoCodecId" value="avc1.66.21" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="audioCodecId" value="mp4a.40.2" valuetype="data" /> 
    			</video>
    			<video src="mp4:myStream_160p" system-bitrate="298304" width="284" height="160">
    			<param name="audioBitrate" value="98304" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="videoBitrate" value="200000" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="videoCodecId" value="avc1.66.21" valuetype="data" /> 
    			<param name="audioCodecId" value="mp4a.40.2" valuetype="data" /> 
    			</video>
    		</switch>
    	</body>
    </smil>
    the problem is most pronounced during sequences with lots of motion, so it most likely is the encoder, even though it doesn't appear to have a problem with the encode. However, in Wirecast you can't force the frame rate - they state it isn't "guaranteed"

    The server runs at 23% CPU load with two such streams being transcoded. We had the issue even with just one transcode. Source encoder is an i7 running at a mild load as well.

    Peter

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    103

    Default

    pburke, did you ever find out how to fix this?

    I'm running Wirecast too, and have a similar problem reported in this thread.

Similar Threads

  1. Wowza transcoder problem (Timecode out of order)
    By rubenlg in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-17-2013, 11:53 AM
  2. Timecode of order
    By Lelik1985 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-17-2013, 07:58 AM
  3. Live Stream - Timecode out of order [audio]
    By dirtystar in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-12-2012, 03:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •