Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is http streaming in vhosts supported?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default Is http streaming in vhosts supported?

    http streaming works ok in the main configuration, but it doesn't seem to work in vhosts. RTMP live and vod work ok vhosts. I followed the steps to configure http streaming live and vod, but no luck with http vhost streaming. I don't get any errors in the logs for the http streams.

    Followed steps in
    How to set up video on demand streaming http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....on-demand-file

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,933

    Default

    Hi
    Are you trying to configure multiple vhosts or trying the configure multiple applications?
    It's unclear what you are trying to do so can you please clarify.

    If you are trying to create an application, in the link you provided you only need to edit the configuration in the Application.xml file.
    If the application you are trying to configure is called "vod" and you followed the guide you will be editing the Application.xml file found here:
    [Wowza-Install]/conf/vod/Application.xml

    The play links for http streaming are provided in the tutorial in your original post and you can test these using the players that ship with Wowza found in the /examples/ folder.

    Jason

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Hello

    I'm trying to configure multiple vhosts and multiple applications within the vhosts. I created directory structure and copied all the files to the vhost conf directory like shown on page 86 in the server user guide. The [Wowza-Install]/conf/vhosts.xml, [Wowza-Install]/conf/vhost.xml and [Wowza-Install]/VHosts/[vHostName]/conf/vhost.xml files have been modified with correct paths and IP addresses. The [Wowza-Install]/VHosts/[vHostName]/conf/vod/Application.xml has been modified to point to the new directory with the files. The files can be played back through RTMP, but not through http stream. The default vod in [Wowza-Install]/conf/vod/Application.xml configuration works ok through RTMP and HTTP.

    Thanks,
    Slav

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Slav,

    Before you got to far into multiple VHosts, consider if that is necessary. It adds complexity to tuning that you should avoid unless necessary. There is very little you can't do with one VHost and multiple applications.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,933

    Default

    Hi
    Let me get this straight, you copied the original Application.xml for the default vhost which plays streams via a http client and rtmp.
    The new vhost which you've created doesn't play streams via a http client but still plays the rtmp streams.

    It sounds like you need to add :
    cupertinostreaming,smoothstreaming,sanjosestreaming to HTTPStreamers section of the Application.xml in :
    [Wowza-Install]/VHosts/newvhost/conf/[application]/Application.xml.

    like this:
    <HTTPStreamers>cupertinostreaming,smoothstreaming,sanjosestreaming</HTTPStreamers>
    You may have added :
    cupertinostreamingpacketizer,smoothstreamingpacketizer,sanjosestreamingpacketizer to LiveStreamPacketizers section which needs to be left blank.

    like this:
    <LiveStreamPacketizers></LiveStreamPacketizers>
    when using a video on demand application.

    Jason

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thank you for sharing the settings. That is how I configured the [Wowza-Install]/VHosts/newvhost/conf/[application]/Application.xml. I duplicated the vod configuration under the main server configuration and http worked, but exactly the same configuration under the vhost does not work.

    I did more testing with duplicating the vod and live configuration under the main server configuration and it works ok. I'm going to take Richard's advice and just create custom applications without vhosts.

    Thanks for the help.
    Last edited by bethanysmc; 11-22-2012 at 05:44 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Richard,

    Thank you for the advice. I'm migrating from FMS vhosts, so I was trying to duplicate my configuration. I can get around without using vhosts.

    Thanks,
    Slav

Similar Threads

  1. Streaming FLV to IOS Supported Devices
    By lewisifer in forum Video On Demand Streaming Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-29-2013, 10:29 AM
  2. iOS issue "...format is not supported: http://myurl/live/streamname/playlist.m3u8"
    By krissy in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-18-2012, 10:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •