Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Help with live stream

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Help with live stream

    I have a weird issue that just started happening yesterday, and I'm working around the clock to try to fix.

    We feed our Wowza live (basically stock) application from ffmpeg via mpeg ts over UDP. Starting yesterday, however, our flash streams have gotten wonky, in that the audio is non-existent (I can only describe it as "scratchy every 5 seconds") and the video is glitchy. On the iPhone, it works fine.

    I've seen this issue in the past, when I have multiple streams being sent into the Wowza using the same UDP port. But now, we're only sending in a single stream, and it seems to have gotten into a state that it cannot correct itself from. I think it is related though, because the issue originates when I switch from one stream to another. If I stop the stream and start it again (with, say, 10 seconds in between), it seems to correct the issue, but I'm wondering if there's anything I can do so I don't introduce that long a delay between streams.

    It's curious that the problem doesn't exist at all on iPhone, and I'm wondering if that suggests maybe a setting I can apply to address it? Or is there a way to trigger a reset (without resetting the whole server) on just a single stream? If I had that, I could send that trigger as I'm switching origin streams.

    Any thoughts? Thanks much!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,933

    Default

    Hi
    You can try adding the functionality provided my this tutorial,
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....Caster-streams

    It may help with the issues you're experiencing.

    Jason

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks Jason, for the reply and suggestion.

    I'll give this a shot to see how it goes! Will post a reply later today.

    Thanks again,
    -Tim

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Just a followup on this: the instructions on the page you referenced work were pure genius! It was easy to set up, and worked like a charm!

    Now, I'm curious to dig into it a little deeper to see if there's a way that I can detect the non-existence of origin content, and play a certain clip if not.. I think that post was a good starting point for figuring that out.

    Thanks again,
    -Tim

Similar Threads

  1. Copying audio data from one live stream to another live stream
    By videodoctor in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-14-2013, 08:13 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-10-2013, 11:40 PM
  3. Live stream HLS repeat stream in a duration (not live)
    By lee2510 in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-16-2013, 06:12 AM
  4. Stream video file with cuepoints as live and then switch to live stream
    By notreemedia in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 08:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •