Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is separate licence required for each Wowza server running?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Is separate licence required for each Wowza server running?

    Hi all,

    I have a basic question. When I have an autoscaled setup of wowza media server i.e. 1 Loadbalancer with 2 edge servers then, do I need to have individual licences for each of the wowza servers running? i.e. in this condition mentioned should I have 3 licences in place ?

    Thanks.

  2. #2

    Default

    Hi,

    Yes you would need 3 licenses. For each instance you need a Wowza license.

    Andrew.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks.

    Now, I am trying out load balancing in wowza using a developer licence. Will it work if I have the same developer licence in all 3 instances i.e. in 1 Loadbalancer with 2 edge servers ?

    Pls clarify !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Since it is a developer licence.. i presume that it might allow.. but not sure.. ! pls clarify !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You cannot use a developer license for this because it is production use of Wowza.

    Richard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks Richard..

    So, if I have to test loadbalancing setup of wowza then, I should be having proper licenses to even test the same - correct?

    If I use one Developer license or multiple Developer licences to test loadbalancing it will not work - correct ?

    If above mentioned is the condition then, How do we test the load balancing feature of wowza? Please can you tell me the best way of approach to TEST out loadbalancing in Wowza ?

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You can use a developer license for this testing.

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. [FREELANCER REQUIRED] Streaming from VLC HD Channel to Wowza Server
    By areeb111 in forum Integrating Wowza into your workflow
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2013, 10:25 AM
  2. Daily licence bought but no licence key given
    By nderambure in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-03-2013, 07:47 AM
  3. Amazon EC2 Server (running Wowza Media Server 3), Adobe FMLE (3 bitrates), JW Player
    By maurolopes in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-2013, 08:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •