Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Serving caption files - changing directory for content?

  1. #1

    Default Serving caption files - changing directory for content?

    I have followed the instructions for serving caption files through http:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....mand-streaming

    But i would like to change the serving directory from the default "Wowza content/ folder". Is this possible?

    I have tried changing in the conf/Application.xml:
    <Application>/<Streams>/<StorageDir>
    which is the only place in the config files i could find, which points to this directory.


    Thanks,

    Mattias

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Mattias,

    Yes, that is where to change the content location.

    Richard

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    Mattias,

    Yes, that is where to change the content location.

    Richard
    That doesn't seem to work.

    After I've changed there it still reads from "installdir/content". I have restarted wowza, I even restarted the entire server/machine! But it still reads from the old directory.



    Thanks,

    Mattias

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    It works in our test. Did you turn on the ttml provider in the Application.xml? If you have not got it working, zip up conf and logs folders and send them to support@wowza.com. Include a link to this thread for refernence

    Richard

  5. #5

    Default

    I am having what appears to be a similar problem. Should I be able to access the .srt, .ttml (or other configured extension) file(s) like this:

    http://<ip>/<app-name>/_definst_/<sub-dir>/captions-1-8-330.srt
    Interestingly, when I have a filename that does not exist, I get the fall-thru to the server-id text output. When I choose a filename that _does_ exist, all I get is blank output. I am sure the file has content, and that content is about 100KB in size.

    From the log when this is running, I get this:

    DEBUG server comment - HTTPStreamerAdapterCupertinoStreamer.canHandle[<app-name>/_definst_/<sub-dir>/captions-1-8-330.srt]: false
    INFO server comment - HTTPStreamerAdapterSanJoseStreamer.canHandle[<app-name>/_definst_/<sub-dir>/captions-1-8-330.srt]: false
    INFO server comment - HTTPStreamerAdapterDvrChunkStreamer.canHandle[<app-name>/_definst_/<sub-dir>/captions-1-8-330.srt]: false
    We're trying to provide several caption tracks in JWPlayer, and I am assuming JWPlayer just calls the URL as above for the captions.

    Thanks for any clarity you may provide here.

    --dan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Dan,

    In JW Player 6 there is nothing to configure on the client side, it is all transparent. You do not have to refer to these files in anyway from the client. Wowza doesn't display the file contents of this type in a browser as you are trying to do.

    Richard

  7. #7

    Default

    Richard:

    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I'm having a bit of trouble understanding, then, how this would work:

    (from here: http://www.wowza.com/forums/content.php?474)

    <video width=400 height=300 src="http://10.0.0.10:1935/vod/mp4:sample.mp4/playlist.m3u8">
    <track kind="subtitles" label="English subtitles" src="http://10.0.0.10:1935/vod/sample_eng.vtt" srclang="eng" default></track>
    <track kind="subtitles" label="Korean subtitles" src="http://10.0.0.10:1935/vod/sample_kor.vtt" srclang="kor"></track>
    </video>
    ...that would have to be plain text output of the vtt file(s) to the HLS player, no? Or is this "hit" just a signal to Wowza that it needs to be making these files available to the client? I'm (clearly) confused.

    Our goal is to be able to provide multiple languages, selectable by the client at playback time. As a bonus, for each of those tracks, we'd like to be able to configure the file name of the caption file.

    If I'm going about this totally wrong, please let me know...trying my best to follow the docs.

    Thanks!

    --dan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Dan,

    Yes, (I overlooked that method) with that HTTPProvider in place you can get these files from Wowza over HTTP, and you should be able to see them as plain text in a browser.

    Make sure you re-start Wowza after adding the HTTProvider. Make sure it is not last in the list of HTTPProviders, because it will never be reached below the catch-all (no RequestFilter) that is placed last.

    Richard

  9. #9

    Default

    Richard:

    Hmm - looks like it's simply not working. Same situation as from above.

    Interestingly, I _do_ get crossdomain.xml from the same directory - server indicates:
    DEBUG server comment - HTTPStreamerAdapterCupertinoStreamer.canHandle[<app-name>/_definst_/crossdomain.xml]: false
    INFO server comment - HTTPStreamerAdapterSanJoseStreamer.canHandle[<app-name>/_definst_/crossdomain.xml]: true
    INFO server comment - HTTPStreamerAdapterSanJoseStreamer.service: <app-name>/_definst_/crossdomain.xml
    I can see a handler for it - and it shows just fine in the browser.

    But when I go for the caption file, it just indicates:

    DEBUG server comment - HTTPStreamerAdapterCupertinoStreamer.canHandle[<app-name>/_definst_/<sub-dir>/captions-1-8-330.srt]: false
    INFO server comment - HTTPStreamerAdapterSanJoseStreamer.canHandle[<app-name>/_definst_/<sub-dir>/captions-1-8-330.srt]: false
    INFO server comment - HTTPStreamerAdapterDvrChunkStreamer.canHandle[<app-name>/_definst_/<sub-dir>/captions-1-8-330.srt]: false
    Looks like there's nobody grabbing it (all return false).

    Interestingly, contrary to my post above, even when I go for a file that does not exist (foo.srt) it gives me the same null output, and the same "false" return and nothing else. If I go for, say, foo.srt.foo, it will fail as expected, as this doesn't match the RequestFilter. So it's as if the method is generating an IOException and it not indicating it... or there's no real handler for this (they all return false above).

    Anything I'm missing here? Does this work for you? I'm running 3.5.2.05 build4530

    Thanks Again for your help!

    --dan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Did you put the HTTPProvider in the wrong /HostPort. There are 3 in the default /conf/VHost.xml file

    I just tested it with a .ttml file and worked
    http://[wowza-address]:1935/vod/sample.ttml

    But I put the HTTPProvider in the 2nd (commented out) HostPort at first. Perhaps that's what you did

    Richard

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SMIL Files created on Default content directory only
    By stream4life in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2014, 08:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •