Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: EC2 + S3 + VOD + transrating

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default EC2 + S3 + VOD + transrating

    Hi - I would like to have a set up with EC2+S3 and deliver lower bitrates for MP4 using the http protocol.

    This works: http://mydomain.com/vods3/_definst_/...4/manifest.f4m

    The MP4 files are H.264 + AAC so according to the documentation I should be able to do transrating. Goal is to deliver via http protocol so something like this would work (I actually don't know what the URLs should look like):

    http://mydomain.com/vods3/_definst_s...mp4:sample.mp4
    http://mydomain.com/vods3/_definst_/...ple.mp4_source

    or

    http://mydomain.com/vods3/_definst_720p/mp4:sample.mp4
    http://mydomain.com/vods3/_definst/mp4:sample.mp4_720p



    Contents of "/usr/local/WowzaMediaServer/transcoder/templates/transrate.xml" :

    <Root>
    <Transcode>
    <Encodes>
    <Encode>
    <Enable>true</Enable>
    <Name>source</Name>
    <StreamName>mp4:${SourceStreamName}_source</StreamName>
    <Video>
    <!-- H.264, PassThru, Disable -->
    <Codec>PassThru</Codec>
    <Bitrate>${SourceVideoBitrate}</Bitrate>
    <Parameters>
    </Parameters>
    </Video>
    <Audio>
    <!-- AAC, PassThru, Disable -->
    <Codec>PassThru</Codec>
    <Bitrate>${SourceAudioBitrate}</Bitrate>
    </Audio>
    <Properties>
    </Properties>
    </Encode>
    <!-- Setup for 720p, high bandwith, main profile for desktop or set-top box -->
    <Encode>
    <Enable>false</Enable>
    <Name>720p</Name>
    <StreamName>mp4:${SourceStreamName}_720p</StreamName>
    <Video>
    <!-- H.264, PassThru, Disable -->
    <Codec>H.264</Codec>
    <!-- default, CUDA, QuickSync -->
    <Transcoder>default</Transcoder>
    <GPUID>-1</GPUID>
    <FrameSize>
    <!-- letterbox, fit-width, fit-height, crop, stretch, match-source -->
    <FitMode>fit-height</FitMode>
    <Width>1280</Width>
    <Height>720</Height>
    <!-- <Crop>0,0,0,0</Crop> -->
    <!-- <SourceRectangle>0,0,320,240</SourceRectangle> -->
    </FrameSize>
    <Profile>main</Profile>
    <Bitrate>1300000</Bitrate>
    <KeyFrameInterval>
    <FollowSource>true</FollowSource>
    <Interval>60</Interval>
    </KeyFrameInterval>
    <Parameters>
    </Parameters>
    </Video>
    <Audio>
    <!-- AAC, PassThru, Disable -->
    <Codec>PassThru</Codec>
    <Bitrate>${SourceAudioBitrate}</Bitrate>
    <Parameters>
    </Parameters>
    </Audio>
    <Properties>
    </Properties>
    </Encode>
    </Encodes>
    </Transcode>
    </Root>


    Contents of "/usr/local/WowzaMediaServer/conf/vods3/Application.xml" :

    ...
    ...
    ...


    <Transcoder>
    <!-- To turn on transcoder set to: transcoder -->
    <LiveStreamTranscoder>transcoder</LiveStreamTranscoder>
    <!-- [templatename].xml or ${SourceStreamName}.xml -->
    <Templates>${SourceStreamName}.xml,transrate.xml</Templates>
    <ProfileDir>${com.wowza.wms.context.VHostConfigHome}/transcoder/profiles</ProfileDir>
    <TemplateDir>${com.wowza.wms.context.VHostConfigHome}/transcoder/templates</TemplateDir>
    <Properties>
    </Properties>
    </Transcoder>

    ...
    ...
    ...

    Is this possible at all? If yes, how can I set it up with valid sources placed on S3, i.e. :

    http://mydomain.com/vods3/_definst_/...4/manifest.f4m

    and what would be the right URLs?

    Thanks.
    Last edited by impfiji; 12-20-2012 at 03:08 PM. Reason: typos

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    723

    Default

    Hi,

    Wowza Transcoder AddOn provides the ability to ingest a live stream, decode the video and audio, and then re-encode the stream to suit desired playback devices.
    VOD transcoding/transrating is not supported by Wowza. You can use the Transcoder Addon only for live streams.

    Zoran

Similar Threads

  1. Transrating Issue / Keyframes
    By streamingproducer in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-06-2014, 01:48 PM
  2. no transrating
    By kilavan in forum Wowza Transcoder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-21-2014, 05:59 PM
  3. Transrating Issue - Possible Transcoder AddOn Bug
    By IPVSINC in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-25-2012, 09:52 AM
  4. Transrating for on-demand
    By myfullflavour in forum Video On Demand Streaming Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-05-2012, 12:33 AM
  5. Transrating file
    By djos06 in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2012, 09:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •