Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Cannot access wowza at IP:1935?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default Cannot access wowza at IP:1935?

    I am using the test license of Wowza and everything has been working just fine up to now.

    This morning I went to shutdown the wowza service and then re-start it but I accidentally used these commands:
    cd /Library/WowzaMediaServer/bin
    ./shutdown.sh

    cd /usr/local/WowzaMediaServer/bin
    ./startup.sh

    After the startup command above was used I got this error:

    Error creating class loader: java.lang.NullPointerException
    java.lang.NullPointerException
    at com.wowza.wms.bootstrap.Bootstrap.createClassLoader(Unknown Source)
    at com.wowza.wms.bootstrap.Bootstrap.startServer(Unknown Source)
    at com.wowza.wms.bootstrap.Bootstrap.main(Unknown Source)
    Error starting: java.lang.NullPointerException
    java.lang.NullPointerException
    at com.wowza.wms.bootstrap.Bootstrap.startServer(Unknown Source)
    at com.wowza.wms.bootstrap.Bootstrap.main(Unknown Source)

    Then I realized that I meant to use the correct service shutdown and startup commands:

    /sbin/service WowzaMediaServer stop
    /sbin/service WowzaMediaServer start

    So I then did that and I get the correct messages now that wowza is started.

    The problem now is that when I try to access wowza at the IP addess:1935 I get a page cannot be found error

    I have looked in the firewall and nothing's blocked there so I'm not sure what I may have done here. Is the error messsage I got above a normal message or did I screw something up?

    Any help to fix this would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Hi,

    What are your log statements after you started WMS using the /sbin/service WowzaMediaServer start command?

    be sure that you starting Wowza using a user account (i.e. root) that has the appropriate access to run the startup command?

    -Tim

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    can you please tell me how to find the log statements? I am pretty new to this.

    i am starting wowza from the su- root where i have always been doing this.

    i am getting the started and stopped messages when i use the sbin start and stop commands.

    did the error messages i posted above from my initially using the wrong commands possibly cause any problems or did those not mean anything?

    i will post the logs as soon as i figure out how to get them.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    299

    Default

    The logs are located in [install-dir]/logs. You will want to look at wowzamediaserver_access.log and wowzamediaserver_error.log.

    You're welcome to send a copy of your [install-dir]/logs and /conf folders (in a zip/archive) to support@wowza.com where we can take a closer look.

    You may also want to try starting Wowza in standalone mode using the instructions listed here: http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....tartStandalone

    -Tim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    the standalone mode is what i did in my first message on accident where i got those error messages.

    when i try to start it again in standalone mode i still get the same error messages posted in my first post

    i will get the logs to you as soon as i get back to my office.

Similar Threads

  1. Teradek, Wowza and port 1935
    By coskel22 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-17-2012, 02:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •