Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Live Stream Repeat from different Applications

  1. #1

    Talking Live Stream Repeat from different Applications


    I've the following setup

    On my Origin exists 3 applications

    application one
    just contains 2 .stream files containing in it accessible content folder :
    First .streamFile : rtmp://sameorigin:1935/two/_definst_/stream100
    Second .streamFile : rtmp://sameorigin:1935/three/_definst_/stream200

    application two
    gets its own livestream from the Adobe FME pointed to the stream /stream100

    application three
    gets its own livestream from the Adobe FME, too. Pointed to the stream /stream200

    I've written a module for Application "one" which creates on onAppStart() 2 Playlists. One to the .streamFile "stream100", one for .streamFile "stream200". So per Application two|three an own playlist which item points relativ to the streamfile (regarding the content folder), contains the flag -2 for Livestream and -1 for length.

    During the play()-call of the module, depending on some decisions which the plugin takes, it will start playlist for "stream100" or playlist for "stream200". So far so good. Decisions works great.

    But I don't get any video in my Flashplayer after I start the playlist for a given stream. I've called already the .streamFile directly from application "one", but this will even also present no video.

    The Application "one" is configured as (currently I'm just testing with one server, when this works, I will try a orgin - edge,edge,edge Setup)

    and Storage is

    In this directory stays the 2 .stream files.

    I've called rtmp://originserver/one/ without success.
    The only one I get is

    WARN server comment - LiveMediaStreamReceiver.connect: failure
    But the original stream from app two or app three works well.

    My Playlist created like this (in onAppStart() ):

    final Playlist playlistf = new Playlist("stream_first");
    playlistf.addItem("/", -2, -1);
    final Playlist playlist2 = new Playlist("stream_second");
    playlist2.addItem("/", -2, -1);
    during play() I do the following :

    Playlist pl = isGood ? playlistf : playlist2;
    final Stream stream = Stream.createInstance(client.getVHost(), currentApplication.getName(), streamName);
    //		this.invokePrevious(client, function, params);
    Both application two and three are configured as

    Is it not possible to stream-repeat application wide?
    Can the .stream Files just contain relative streams from the same application?

    EDIT :
    Ok, I've tried something with a diffent flashplayer. If I use
    as Server and
    as Stream Name, it works. But why do it not work if I write the same URL from the streamName to the .stream File ?

    Thanks for reply

    Last edited by tone303; 01-31-2013 at 10:40 AM. Reason: Found some interesting points

  2. #2

    Default Ok, simplify it..

    Ok, simplify it..

    I've 2 Applications

    Application "one" configured as liverepeater-origin. To this application I send a stream via FMEncoder.
    If I call the stream directly under


    I can see a stream.

    And I have another application "two". This is a liverepeater-edge. In this case on the same host.

    If I call via [install-dir]/examples/LiveVideoStreaming/client/live.html

    Server : rtmp://wowzaserver/two/
    Streamname : rtmp://wowzaserver/one/livestream
    everything looks fine, too.

    But when I create a
    (with vi on console, so there are no .txt)
    which contains rtmp://wowzaserver/one/livestream in it as a single line, for application "two", and call this

    Server : rtmp://wowzaserver/two/
    Streamname :
    Nothing goes on. Just the described WARN server comment - LiveMediaStreamReceiver.connect: failure

    I think there is something missing in my configuration..... But I don't know. So far as I've read in the forum, this type
    of streaming just with .stream Files is one of the simple things...

    Have some solutions to me?`


    Last edited by tone303; 02-01-2013 at 08:16 AM. Reason: Change to correct pathes

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007


    If /conf/two/Application.xml /StreamType is "liverepeater-edge", that should work as you described. Since the first test, using full rtmp origin url as stream name, there must be problem with the .stream file. Make sure you are using same case. Go over everything, try it again.


  4. #4


    Hi Richard,

    I found out that this thing with the streamfile does not work if I use the ModuleStreamName Alias

    It was just configured default. There were no alias configured, just *=${Stream.Name}

    If I comment it out, it runs very very fine! Aliasing should be a next step in my setup. So this was
    the reason why it was configured.

    Is it a known problem? Or just my problem?



  5. #5


    Ok, on one side I've the problem with the streamNameAlias Module to work correctly with my .stream File scenario.

    On more important question is : Is it possible for iOS Streaming (http, rtsp..) to "rewrite" the stream?

    Like my way with 2 playlists.

    Client comes with streamName "/ultimatestream/playlist.m3u8" and internaly I change it to what ever I want as
    origin source?

    As far as I know my only point to interact is onXYZSessionCreate(). During rtmp I can do this during .play()



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007


    You cannot the StreamNameAlias addon with .stream files, which is a light-weight aliasing method. You can't alias an alias.


  7. #7


    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    You cannot the StreamNameAlias addon with .stream files, which is a light-weight aliasing method. You can't alias an alias.

    Found a solution with IMediaStreamNameAliasProvider for HTTP*Session Connections and Playlist Switch for RTMP! Works great. Thanks for hints which push me to the right directon! :-)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007


    You're welcome. Thanks for the update


Similar Threads

  1. Live stream HLS repeat stream in a duration (not live)
    By lee2510 in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-16-2013, 06:12 AM
  2. Is It Possible To Live Repeat From A Cupertino Playlist *.m3u8 ?
    By claudio in forum Tutorials Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-20-2013, 06:09 AM
  3. helps to repeat a live signal from one server to another with streammanager
    By inforsepulveda in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-21-2012, 06:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts