Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: bandwith?

  1. #1

    Default bandwith?

    hey.. i just installed the bandwith checker did a test

    result

    download speed 1559kbit latency 82ms

    the speed is very good but whats up with the ping? if i ping the server win windows via cmd i get 15ms

    is there any explanation for this?

  2. #2

    Default

    just to be clear this test is in kilobytes right? not bits

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    No, kbit = kilobits.

    You ping from the client to server, whereas the bandwidth checker is measuring from server to client. And icmp and rtmp are different protocols with different payloads.

    I'm not sure if it will better agree, but this tool measures from client to server:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....tream-encoder)

    Richard

  4. #4

    Default

    hmm.. how come i can watch a hd stream of 3000kbps without problem if i only have 1500kbps from server to me :S

    and so the icmp ping is 15 and rtmp 80?

    how high can the ping go before you start to have problems?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    I don't know how high ping can go before there are problems.

    Richard

  6. #6

    Default

    do you have answer to my other question?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    I am not sure. If you can stream 3000kbs, that is the better test. Network conditions can change second to second.

    Regarding ping vs rtmp time, If that is what you are seeing, I don't know what to tell you. They are different.

    Richard

  8. #8

    Default

    so what does the bwcheck do?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,933

    Default

    Hi
    Just to clarify, the bandwidth test you're doing is from "Your Server" to "You"?
    You're not streaming HD at 3000kbps from say Youtube to you and then wondering why your bandwidth checker doesn't say you can do the equivalent is available?

    A quick example of what I mean :

    Your Server --> You = 1500 kbps (Bandwidth checker)
    Youtube --> You = 3000 kbps (streaming)

    If this is correct it indicates a problem at your server.

    Jason

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-18-2012, 06:29 AM
  2. How to test bandwith
    By chatlumo in forum Video On Demand Streaming Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-25-2012, 07:32 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •