Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Strobe Media for HTTP streaming

  1. #1

    Default Strobe Media for HTTP streaming

    Hi there ... I've installed in my lab 3.0.5 to start testing new features included. For a full test, I am also using the players that come as examples in the installation package.
    I've found that the examples for DVRStreaming, doesn't play DVR properly (while players included in previous version examples play fine)

    When I call a purely DVR URL (with a time for beginning and end), player seems to go to the end of the content directly (which causes nothing is played back) as if it were a DVR content with live still there.

    Is there any parameter to change this behaviour?


    Thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    For testing it would be much better to use the latest version, which 3.5.2. You can use this patch to update:

    http://www.wowza.com/downloads/Wowza....x.x-3.5.2.zip

    And there is a dev build patch that you can apply over the above.
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....lopment-Builds

    There are new examples and many adds, enhancements and bug fixes.

    Richard

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi Richard ... thanks for the reply, but I wasn't referring as Wowza not working. Actually, I have installed the latest version and it seems to be working fine in lab in terms of what the server does.
    My issue is with the player it comes as example in the foldes /wowza/examples/livedvrstreaming .... the Strobe Media example there doesn't play DVR content, while examples that came in previous versions of Wowza do plan DVR perfectly

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    It works in my recent tests. I was using that player yesterday with a dvr stream.

    Richard

  5. #5

    Default

    Strange though. For me, it works when the live stream is still "live" ... so, in this case, I see the live and have the chance to rewind on DVR content
    but when the live is stopped and I just want to watch the recorded content, it brings the manifest with all the content OK (as per sniff in traffic) but it tries to play the last chunk of the manifest (as it does when it's dvr with live still there)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    I think I have seen what you mean, the play head (seek bar position) might be all the way to the right, in the live area, so it buffers and buffers. You should be able to seek back and playback the recorded content when it is in that state. I was not able to reproduce that after noticing it, not sure what the sequence but it is shortly after stopping. Today, when I open that player and play the stream recorded yesterday it starts from the beginning.

    Richard

  7. #7

    Default

    no, it doesn't play even if I slide the bar back. I've installed wowza on 3 servers, and try the examples on 3 servers with same results
    If I try the examples from previous versions (3.0.3) I've no problems ... it doesn't matter if the content I'm playing is on a 3.0.3 or 3.0.5

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Try Wowza 3.5.2. Apply this patch to upgrade:
    http://www.wowza.com/downloads/Wowza....x.x-3.5.2.zip


    You might also add the latest dev patch
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....lopment-Builds

    Richard
    Last edited by rrlanham; 03-07-2013 at 08:39 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    If you still see this with Wowza 3.5.2.01, can you tell me the exact sequence that results in this state?

    Richard

  10. #10

    Default

    Hi ... I can still have this issue. I enter the URL on the example player for DVR that comes on latest version, and I can't play the content. When I do it on older StrobeMediaPlayback, I've no problem
    See URL below as an example (I've entered the CDN URL as origin is in South America)

    http://d1dh8aut9k9ui.cloudfront.net/...=1363028099000

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Does Strobe Media Player Support HTML5
    By dairees567 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-10-2014, 08:27 PM
  2. Strobe Media
    By rickhall in forum AddOn: Wowza nDVR
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-26-2011, 06:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •