Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Using S3FS to mount S3 bucket? Point me in the right direction.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default Using S3FS to mount S3 bucket? Point me in the right direction.

    I'm having a lot of trouble mounting S3 on an (Linode) based instance. This instance didn't come bundled with Wowza, just to be clear. Wowza is installed and running fine. Nevertheless, I can't seems to see any directories I try to mount. I've done the following:

    bash$ brew install s3fs
    bash$ brew info fuse4x-kext
    (Copy and Paste ..fuse4x.kext and ..load_fuse4x from the info command above)
    bash$ sudo /bin/cp -rfX /usr/local/Cellar/fuse4x-kext/0.9.2/Library/Extensions/fuse4x.kext /Library/Extensions
    bash$ sudo chmod +s /Library/Extensions/fuse4x.kext/Support/load_fuse4x
    bash$ sudo chmod +s /System/Library/Extensions/fuse4x.kext /Support/load_fuse4x
    bash$ echo "AWSACCESSKEYID:AWSSECRETACCESSKEY" > ~/.passwd-s3fs
    bash$ chmod 600 ~/.passwd-s3fs
    bash$ mkdir /Volumes/s3
    bash$ /usr/local/bin/s3fs BUCKETNAME /Volumes/s3 -olocal,ping_diskarb,volname=S3
    > s3fs: bucket BUCKETNAME is not part of the service specified by the credentials
    bash$ open /Volumes/s3

    The error I'm seeing:

    > s3fs: bucket BUCKETNAME is not part of the service specified by the credentials

    Also to be clear, I'm using S3 elsewhere in the application. I'm registered. The credentials are correct. This error is something else I think, like a false positive. Additionally, BUCKETNAME is just a variable in this example. It can be anything e.g. - "FooBarBucket". My guess is this, either a command above is wrong or I'm missing something else entirely... both likely.

    One more thing, the command list above was run locally and verified on OS X, so neither the Linode instance nor my MBP were able to see any directories.

    Appreciate any input.
    Last edited by theloove; 04-02-2013 at 02:23 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I'm putting a "solution" here for posterity. Panic's Transmit has the ability to mount S3 buckets. This works, but I'd still like to know what was wrong with the previously run commands. Thanks.

    http://panic.com/transmit/

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to mount S3 Bucket using FUSE s3fs
    By SimonShapcott in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2013, 08:19 AM
  2. Unable to mount S3 Bucket using FUSE s3fs
    By SimonShapcott in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-19-2013, 07:33 AM
  3. cannot mount s3fs
    By ergomatic in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-01-2012, 09:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •