Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Segregate live streams by source

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default Segregate live streams by source

    Is it possible to segregate live streams like this:
    rtmp://foo.com:1935/live/source1/stream1
    rtmp://foo.com:1935/live/source2/stream1

    I need to segregate streams from different "sources". It's possible that 2 streams from different sources could have the same stream name, so I need to keep them separate. I'm a complete newb at all this, so I'm not even sure where to look. I thought application instances might be the way to go, but wasn't sure.

    Thanks,
    Glen

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Glen,

    Yes, that will work. "source1" and "source2" in that URL are application instances. You can publish two streams with the same name to the same application at the same time, if you use different application instances. You have to playback that way too, with that app instance part in the playback URL.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    Glen,

    Yes, that will work. "source1" and "source2" in that URL are application instances. You can publish two streams with the same name to the same application at the same time, if you use different application instances. You have to playback that way too, with that app instance part in the playback URL.

    Richard
    Excellent. Where do I look for how to create instances? I looked in WowzaMediaServer_UsersGuide & WowzaMediaServer_ConfigurationReference and saw discussion of them, but not how to create them.

    Also, can they be created dynamically, through an API or a script or some such?

    Thanks,
    Glen

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Glen,

    You don't have to do anything except use a rtmp url that includes an application instance. For example if you played sample.mp4 with the vod app, if you did this:

    Server: rtmp://[wowza-address]:1935/vod/myAppInstance
    Stream: mp4:sample.mp4

    then sample.mp4 will playback on the application instance "myAppInstance". Just playing that stream back with that rtmp url will create the app instance.

    If you publish a live rtmp stream named "myStream" using a app instance in the encoder:

    Publish to: rtmp://[wowza-address]:1935/live/myLiveAppInstance

    Then you must playback that stream with that app instance:

    Server: rtmp://[wowza-address]:1935/live/myLiveAppInstance
    Stream: myStream

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. Iterate over incoming streams and get source urls in HTTPProvider
    By cbasics in forum Wowza Streaming Server Java API
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-14-2014, 12:46 PM
  2. out of sync transcoded and source streams
    By yaroslavv in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-15-2014, 04:47 AM
  3. Can I bypass it request sdp file? source is VLC Live source
    By alantang888 in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-06-2012, 10:31 AM
  4. Record the source, not the transrated streams
    By dangelovich in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-24-2012, 06:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •