Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: multicast input from two interfaces

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    10

    Default multicast input from two interfaces

    Hi,
    how can i configure wowza to receive multicast from two network cards from two different networks?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Take a look at this article:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....work-interface

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Hi Richard,
    i can configure to bind to the interface i want, but what about utilizing two network interfaces at the same time? Shall i just add a new line similar to this: <MulticastInterfaceAddress>192.168.1.22</MulticastInterfaceAddress> but with the IP of the second interface?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    I don't think that will work. I would try the 2nd method, per application: Make two applications, one for each interface.

    Or, two VHosts should work.

    I don't have two IPs to test that. If my suggestion doesn't not work, let me know and I will see what else I can find out.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Any of the solutions would be fine, but where do I make the change as there is only one VHosts file? Do i have to copy it to each application folder?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    I would first try making two applications, making the suggested change in the Application.xml, each pointing to a different interface

    If that doesn't work, you have to add a VHost. Adding a VHost is covered in the Virtual Hosting chapter of the user guide. Hopefully you can avoid that. It complicates tuning.

    Richard

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I have been trying to get the the new streams but no luck so far...this is what i did:

    1.Created a copy of application Live with the folder name Live1.
    2.Modified application.xml under Live1 and added the following tags inside <properties>:
    <Property>
    <Name>multicastInterfaceAddress</Name>
    <Value>192.168.111.111</Value>
    </Property>

    ...192.168.111.111, is the IP address of the second network card that will be used for multicast input.

    I restarted Wowza, but i don't get the streams on Application Live1 from the second network card.

    Then i modified Vhost.xml and put 192.168.111.111 as the MulticastInterfaceAddress. After Wowza restart, i can get the streams from the second network card, but not from the first one.

    What else can I test to get the streams from both network cards ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    I will see if there is a better way, but I'm pretty sure the multiple VHost solution will work.

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. Multicast input with BISS encryption
    By larc25 in forum Wowza Transcoder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-28-2014, 05:32 AM
  2. UDP Multicast input issues
    By edwoodza in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2014, 10:39 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-10-2012, 11:57 AM
  4. How to multicast stream using an input flow of rtsp?
    By hafizradio in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 04-25-2012, 08:12 AM
  5. How to receive multicast input
    By Shyjur in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-28-2012, 10:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •