Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: When adding applications, is it necessary to restart Wowza service?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default When adding applications, is it necessary to restart Wowza service?

    Running Wowza on Win Server 2008. We're setting up different applications for different clients by adding a folder in \applications and one in \conf with the appropriate application.xml file. Do we need to restart the Wowza service after adding those? I've seen a case where the settings in the application.xml file didn't get picked up, but it's possible that a stream was started with that application before the xml file was in place.

    Any guidance appreciated.

    Glen

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,037

    Default

    If it's a newly added application it can be used right away without restarting.
    If you make a change to an existing application's Application.xml then that change will be
    picked up only on the next app-start. So yes if your application was already started / in use
    the an app-stop / app-start will need to happen first to pick it up.
    You can control applications using jmx/jconsole, see the admin section of the QuickStart guide:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content.php?217#jconsole

    Daren

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Excellent, thanks!

    Glen

Similar Threads

  1. Restart Wowza
    By guinoz in forum General Forum
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-03-2016, 11:31 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-15-2012, 04:20 PM
  3. trying to restart Wowzaq, getting unrecognized service error
    By coskel22 in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-24-2011, 03:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •