Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wowza Simple Radiostream

Default Wowza Simple Radiostream

OK, I am a Wowza noob, haha. I am so lost, I really need some help.

I currently broadcast a weekly radioshow using Microsoft Expression Encoder from my home and my own Windows 2003 server a couple of thousand miles away. Problem, of course, is not everyone can hear the broadcast because it is setup using Windows Media Player.

I have installed Wowza on my Windows 2003 server. I have figured out that I can use Winamp to ingest the audio from my Expression Encoder and I can output that via a shoutcast plugin.

I think that's half the battle. What I need now is how do I connect the shoutcast output (mp3 or AAC) into Wowza. I have read the documentation and I don't fully understand it. I am not a stupid person, I did my whole windows setup my self but am just lost with Wowza.

Any assistance here would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Hi Doug

Have you seen this tutorial:
    How to re-stream audio from SHOUTcast/Icecast

Salvadore

Quote Originally Posted by salvadore View Post
    Hi Doug

Have you seen this tutorial:
    How to re-stream audio from SHOUTcast/Icecast

Salvadore
    Yes I have seen it and am stumped at this point.....

Publishing the stream

1. Use a text editor to create the file [install-dir]/content/radiostation.stream and set the contents of this file to the full HTTP URL of a SHOUTcast or Icecast stream (see URL to connect to SHOUTcast or Icecast).

The shoutcast has winamp for input and wants me to specify a location to send the output to. I am not paying to go thru shoutcasts' servers, I am just using shoutcast as a way to direct the audiostream to wowza. This is where I am having the problem.

Hi Doug,
    If you have the audio files, you can put them in your [wowza-install-dir]/content folder, and stream them as VOD.

open the example player: [wowza-install-dir]/examples/VideoOnDemandStreaming/FlashRTMPPlayer/player.html