Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Load balancer not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default Load balancer not working

    Hi,
    I have a configuration of 3 EC2 instances configured as 1 origin and 2 edge. I have been unsuccessful in configuring the loadbalancer to work. I have followed the guide and repeated the process several times without success. I have checked and rechecked to no avail. If I use the Wowza Flash RTMP player, I can connect to the Origin and to each edge server, so I know they are all working. The loadbalancer however never seems to redirect to the edges.

    My encoder is set to:
    URL: rtmp://x.x.x.x:1935/liveorigin
    Stream: myStream

    With several connections to the stream, the loadbalancer ServerInfoXML returns the following:

    <LoadBalancerServerInfo>
    <script/>
    <LoadBalancerServer>
    <connectCount>0</connectCount>
    <status>RUNNING</status>
    <redirectCount>0</redirectCount>
    <lastMessage>347 milliseconds</lastMessage>
    <redirect>184.73.158.62</redirect>
    <serverId>a2b77cf2-f525-4f4c-aaaa-6c61a3a7e789</serverId>
    </LoadBalancerServer>
    <LoadBalancerServer>
    <connectCount>0</connectCount>
    <status>RUNNING</status>
    <redirectCount>0</redirectCount>
    <lastMessage>1 second 833 milliseconds</lastMessage>
    <redirect>107.20.152.213</redirect>
    <serverId>649a82be-e9cd-4dcc-94f0-0d3350fd5e51</serverId>
    </LoadBalancerServer>
    </LoadBalancerServerInfo>

    If I connect to the edge server directly, the <ConnectCount> indicates the correct number of connections for each edge server.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Maxi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    680

    Default

    Hey Maxi,

    When you do the following request:

    http://[load-balancer-ip-address]:1935/loadbalancer

    Does it return something of the following?

    redirect=[ip-address]

    If it seems to respond appropriately (with an ip of an edge), send a zip file of [install-dir]/conf and logs of one of the edges and the load balancer to support@wowza.com

    Matt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi Matt,
    http://[load-balancer-ip-address]:1935/loadbalancer does return redirect='Edge.address' but the curious thing is it always returns the ip address of the same edge even if I have that edge manually playing a stream and the other edge has no connections.

    I am sending zip files as requested to support at Wowza

    Maxi

  4. #4

    Default

    Hi all,

    Any solution?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    The Load Balancer Listener returns the least loaded server. If it is not returning what you expect, check the configuration on the server(s) that are not returning, and check total connection count on those server(s), which is what is being compared.

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. How load balancer works? Unbalanced load situation
    By gavram in forum Wowza Streaming Server Java API
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-25-2014, 06:49 AM
  2. Using ec2 load balancer vs wowza load balancer and the best instances for me.
    By cham24 in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-04-2013, 02:18 PM
  3. Load Balancing using Kemp Load Balancer
    By deanomeara in forum General Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-14-2013, 07:56 AM
  4. Load Balancer: RTMP redirection not working
    By Mark Rose in forum AddOn: Other AddOns
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-13-2012, 03:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •