Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to limit live stream name ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    8

    Question How to limit live stream name ?

    I wanna know how to limit live stream name.
    I wish I wanna limit live stream name only config file.
    I mean I don't wanna improve server side code by IDE.

    If wowza live streaming can't limit stream name, anyone who have hostile
    to the server can stream amount of live.

    I hope to limit stream name like this.
    <Live>
    <Allowed Stream Name>
    example1
    example2


    Is it possible ?

    and I wanna know how to prevent live stream name if there are some ways.

    Thank U.

  2. #2

    Default

    Hi,

    There is not currently a module available that gives you the ability to limit publishing to certain stream names however I will add it to our list of example modules to create.

    There are a couple of existing options.

    In the WowzaServerAddOnCollection, there is a module called ModuleOverridePublishRestrictIP that will allow your to restrict publishing to trusted ip addresses.

    The following suggestion won't restrict publishing but it will restrict playback to allowed stream names. Effectively the bad published stream would not be viewable.

    Using the StreamNameAlias AddOn, you would configure the aliasmap.play.txt file to only list the names that you want to allow. If you remove the default setting then all others will be automatically denied.

    mp4:myStream=${Stream.Name}
    myStream=${Stream.Name}
    mp4:myOtherStream=${Stream.Name}
    myOtherStream=${Stream.Name}
    The above will limit playback to just myStream and myOtherStream

    Roger.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi !
    Thank U for your kindness Roger.

    Of course I'll try both of them.
    But I have some anxieties.
    I use WowzaMediaServer-3.6.2, so I don't know whether it works well.
    Because that ver is 2.

    Anyway, I'll be back in three days and write the result.
    Thanks a million.

  4. #4

    Default

    Hi,

    Both links I provided will work with the current version of Wowza.

    Roger.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi, I setuped StreamNameAlias AddOn.
    (About Application.xml file, I only setuped [Installdir]/conf/live/Application.xml
    I mean not include another [ApplicationDir] Application.xml especially vod dir. )

    and I tested.

    But I don't know how to write StreamNameAliasMap.txt about live.

    I wanna just allow [rtmp://192.168.11.4/live/livestream1].

    So I wrote [livestream1=rtmp://192.168.11.4/live/livestream1] to the StreamNameAliasMap.txt file.

    And encorder(Wirecast) bigan to stream to the wowza server which setuped...
    Address:rtmp://192.168.11.4/live
    Stream:livetest

    Then I checked live URL by [installdir]/examples/LiveVideoStreaming/FlashRTMPPlayer/player.html
    Server:rtmp://192.168.11.4/live
    Stream:livetest

    The result was, I could watch live. TT(Oh! No!)

    My expectation is StreamNameAlias AddOn prevent !
    But it doesn't work well, I think it's my fault about setting config file [StreamNameAliasMap.txt].

    Would you tell me how to write StreamNameAliasMap.txt about live stream ?
    Ultimately, I wanna allow all VOD and limited livestream.
    So I'm assuming the StreamNameAliasMap.txt ,
    ---
    *=${Stream.Name}
    livestream1=rtmp://192.168.11.4/live/livestream1
    livestream2=rtmp://192.168.11.4/live/livestream2
    ...
    ---

    Thank U, and sorry my poor English...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    One problem, probably, is that StreamNameAliasMap is a Property name in the StreamNameAlias system that points to a text file which is usually named aliasmap.play.txt, which is the file you define these rules in. Unless you changed it (which you can do).

    Next, "rtmp://192.168.11.4/live/livestream1" is only a stream name in the Wowza Live Repeater system. In that case livestream1 would be an alias used on an edge server to play an origin stream. But it doesn't sound like that is what you are doing.

    Is this an edge?

    Richard

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    However, that is a solution for your requirement to limit by stream name. Use the Live stream repeater system, have an origin and edge on the same machine, and use StreamNameAlias to limit playback on the edge. To do this you will use the aliasmap.stream.txt file (not the aliasmap.play.txt file) and start your streams in StreamManager or /conf/StartUpStreams.xml with MediaCaster type "liverepeater". Following the Live Stream Repeater guide, also set up SecureToken between edge and origin so only the edge can stream from the origin, not other playback clients.

    Richard

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi Mr. rrlanham.
    Thanks your opinions.
    But I'm very sorry, I can't understand what's your point.

    Could you tell me whether it is possible or not ?
    It's very simple question.
    I just wanna allow only "rtmp://192.168.11.4/live/livestream1".

    So, is that possible ? If I use StreamNameAlias AddOn.

    And if it's possible, how do I write to the StreamNameAliasMap.txt file ?
    Or if it's impossible, everybody has no concerns ?

    Thanks a lot.
    (But if wowza can't constrain live stream name easily, wow, I'm astounded !)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Here is another approach (for rtmp clients)
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....control-access

    The other idea is not too bad though, it is entirely configurable that way, no coding, and it is cross-client

    Again, there is a StreamNameAliasMap Property, but not a StreamNameAliasMap.txt file, unless you altered the property to point to that file. The value part of those properties tells you what file to edit. Please follow the guides closely when trying this out. It best not to improvise until you get it work first. And it is critical not to skim these guides.

    Richard

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi Richard.
    I really appreciate your response.
    And I often see your posted comment around here.
    But I can't understand what your point.

    I just wanna know how to write config file.
    Especially your recommended Add On's configure file.

    I said time to again, if I use your recommended Add on's.
    How to write the config file that I wanna just limit only next URL.
    "rtmp://192.168.11.4/live/livestream1".

    And your finally recommended site showed me, [How to override play to control access], server side code.
    What your mean ?

Similar Threads

  1. Hit License Limit for Live Stream Transcoders
    By jolivia in forum Wowza Transcoder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-31-2014, 05:05 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-10-2013, 11:40 PM
  3. Simple way to limit live stream duration
    By iCatcherCCTV in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-10-2011, 06:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •