Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: planning multi camea workflow

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    28

    Default planning multi camea workflow

    I'm streaming a total of 12 camera views and I'm trying to think about how to plan the implementation.

    Ideally the whole thing will run on its own and the client will never now how it all functions.

    Should I have a seperate application for each camera?

    also, I should add that I'm slaving the audio from an axis encoder with the video from an axis camera in vlc the using mpeg ts restreaming to get to Wowza.
    Last edited by rochre; 07-29-2013 at 01:53 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You could have one application per stream, or one application for all streams. Whatever makes business sense for you.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Thanks for your help Richard. I'm getting there.

    I've followed the vlc - mpeg-ts workflow which works great but how do I get multiple streams going? Would I create seperate .stream files that tell Wowza to pick up oncertain ports or ips?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Yes, you use .stream files for this.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Would I need to assign a unique port number to each stream file? or would it need to be a unique ip? would it work to follow this method?
    camera1.stream = udp://0.0.0.0:1001
    camera2.stream = udp://0.0.0.0:1002
    camera3.stream = udp://0.0.0.0:1003.....etc.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You need unique IPort. If different IPs and same port you have to enable port sharing

    Richard

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    28

    Default different ips

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    You need unique IPort. If different IPs and same port you have to enable port sharing

    Richard
    I thought the number of ip's was related to (and limited to) the IPs you had set for you network interface cards? Is this wrong? I have 4 ether ports. I realize this probably reveals my ignorance but please bear with me.
    Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. Workflow question and suggestions
    By rochre in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-2013, 06:19 AM
  2. EC2 Capacity Planning
    By azrilnazli in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-14-2013, 10:35 PM
  3. Multi Encoders, Multi Clients (Edit client config)
    By vitaminc1985 in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-13-2012, 12:52 AM
  4. VOD TO Live Workflow
    By KarateDad in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-11-2012, 11:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •