Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: play RTMP stream in edge server

  1. #1

    Default play RTMP stream in edge server

    I am learning the wowza origin/edge architecture and have doubt in the article :

    To play the stream in Adobe Flash Player (RTMP)

    Server: rtmp://[wowza-edge-address]:1935/liveedge
    Stream: rtmp://[wowza-origin-address]:1935/liveorigin/_definst_/[stream-name]

    Note: You can substitute the name of a .stream file on the origin server in place of the complex URL in Stream.
    For this, my understanding is, I create a mystream.stream on origin server,

    mystream.stream
    rtmp://[wowza-origin-address]:1935/liveorigin/_definst_/[stream-name]
    play the stream from edge server with
    Server: rtmp://[wowza-edge-address]:1935/liveedge
    Stream: mystream.stream

    and work ......?

    how could edge server knows where to convert the mystream.stream and get the origin server ip?

    andy_c
    Last edited by andy_c; 08-08-2013 at 03:41 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    So, it is working but you are just asking why it works?

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    I see. Yes, you play from the edge as you've shown if you use the Application.xml /Repeater /OriginURL to point to the origin.

    Or you can do it like this:

    Server: rtmp://[wowza-edge-address]:1935/liveedge
    Stream: origin.stream

    Where origin.stream is a .stream file in the content folder of the edge containing a rtmp url like this:

    rtmp://[wowza-edge-address]:1935/liveorigin/mystream.stream

    This is the Live Stream Repeater Guide

    When you use the /OriginURL, Wowza puts that together with the stream name and restreams with the same URL that you would use in the origin.stream file.

    Richard

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks Richard.

    So if I do NOT use the /OriginURL, I could make a .stream on the edge server :
    origin.stream
    rtmp://[wowza-origin-address]:1935/liveorigin/_definst_/mystream
    then client could play the stream by using
    Server: rtmp://[wowza-edge-address]:1935/liveedge
    Stream: origin.stream
    right?


    If that's true, I think the description in the article is confused :
    To play the stream in Adobe Flash Player (RTMP)

    Server: rtmp://[wowza-edge-address]:1935/liveedge
    Stream: rtmp://[wowza-origin-address]:1935/liveorigin/_definst_/[stream-name]

    Note: You can substitute the name of a .stream file on the origin server in place of the complex URL in Stream.
    We should put the .stream on edge server rather than origin server

    andy_c
    Last edited by andy_c; 08-08-2013 at 09:18 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    There is a .stream file on both, as shown in the guide.

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. Liverepeater-edge play() problem with invalid stream
    By MARY2006 in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-17-2014, 03:07 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-08-2013, 07:12 AM
  3. server side play stream with liverepeater-edge application
    By dmitriy.kirakosyan in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-27-2012, 06:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •